The BBC National Short Story Award 2011

The BBC National Short Story Award 2011

4 (20 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , By (author)  , Edited by 

List price: US$12.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Bringing together some ofBritain s most talented and inventive authors of short fiction, this anthology is a compilation of the top five entries short-listed for the BBC National Short Story Award. Themes of desire, envy, and disconnection provide recurring motifs for these stories the extremes that love can endure and what happens when love is not enough. A testament to the high quality of short story writing today, this collection will interest avid readers as well as creative writing and literature students."
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 144 pages
  • 110 x 170 x 5mm | 68.04g
  • Mytholmroyd, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New.
  • 1905583419
  • 9781905583416
  • 902,524

Review quote

"A master class in understated creepiness . . . a deliciously macabre collection." Time Out on The New Uncanny"
show more

About M. J. Hyland

M. J. Hyland is a lecturer in creative writing at the University of Manchester and the author of several books, including Carry Me Down, How the Light Gets In, and This Is How. She is the recipient of the Encore and Hawthornden prizes, and her work is regularly featured in publications such as theFinancial Times, theLondon Review of Books, and theIrish Independent. Alison MacLeod is a part-time lecturer at the University of Chichester and the author of The Changeling and The Wave Theory of Angels. She is the recipient of the Society of Authors Olive Cook Prize for Short Fiction and her work has been widely featured, including in London Magazine, Prospect, and in the anthology The New Uncanny. Jon McGregor is an authorof novels that include Even the Dogs and So Many Ways to Begin. He has twice been nominated for the Booker Prize and his short stories have been published in suchliterary magazines as Granta. K. J. Orr is an award-winning writer who has been short-listed for awards that include the London Writers' Prize.She was included in the anthology Cheque Enclosed.D. W. Wilson is a writer and the author of the short story collection Once You Break a Knuckle. He is the recipient of the University of East Anglia's inaugural Man Booker Prize Scholarship. Sue MacGregor is a writer and a longtime broadcaster with the BBC, for which she was named a Commanderof the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire."
show more

Rating details

20 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 40% (8)
4 30% (6)
3 20% (4)
2 10% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X