Awake and Dreaming

Awake and Dreaming

4.23 (2,135 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


Theo and her young, irresponsible mother seem trapped forever in their miserable, poverty-stricken life ... but Theo can't stop dreaming of belonging to a "real" family. When she is mysteriously adopted by the large, warm Kaldor family, her dream seems to be coming true. But as time passes, the magic of Theo's new life begins to fade, and soon she finds herself back with her mother. Were the Kaldors real or just a dream? Who is the shadowy figure who haunts Theo's thoughts? And, most importantly, will Theo ever be able to find a real home with a family she can truly call her own?
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 258 pages
  • 128 x 178 x 22mm | 160g
  • Toronto, Canada
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0143187880
  • 9780143187882
  • 359,838

Back cover copy

A GHOST STORY -- with a Difference

Theo has a hard life with her young, selfish mother. That's why she's always dreamed of belonging to a real family -- mother, father, sisters, brothers. Her dream seems to come true when she is mysteriously "adopted" by a large, warm family, the Kaldors. For the first time, Theo has brand-new clothes, things of her own, security, and good friends. But, as time passes, the magic of Theo's new life begins to fade -- really fade. In fact, Theo herself is vanishing....
show more

Review quote

"This is not a 'quiet' book. It is noisy with the most important kinds of struggle, because you and I face them every day: the quest to find our place in the world, to belong to a family and group of friends, to be loved." - Kenneth Oppel "Pearson's gift is to always write straight from the inner well of childhood feeling." - Toronto Star
show more

About Kit Pearson

Kit Pearson worked as a librarian for many years before publishing her first novel, The Daring Game (1986). She went on to write the linked novels The Sky Is Falling (1989), Looking at the Moon (1991), and The Lights Go On Again (1993), published in 1999 as The Guests of War trilogy, and Awake and Dreaming (1996), which won the Governor General's Award. Pearson lives in Victoria, close to Ross Bay Cemetery, one of the settings in Awake and Dreaming .
show more

Rating details

2,135 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 47% (1,013)
4 34% (722)
3 15% (311)
2 3% (67)
1 1% (22)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X