Austrian Painting 1945-1995: the Essl Collection

Austrian Painting 1945-1995: the Essl Collection

4 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 11-15 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


The Essl Collection, started in 1975, is an important collection of late 20th-century Austrian painting, comprising as it does over 3000 works. It contains some of the finest works by important artists of the period, and charts the multi-faceted development of Austrian art. By selling the less representative examples and buying the finest works available, the Essl family has built up the best collection of recent Austrian painting in the world. The collection is to be exhibited in Vienna in spring 1996, in a celebration of Austrian painting. This book, accompanying the exhibition, offers some 250 works by 41 artists. The artists, listed chronologically, are represented by between four and ten works, supplemented by photographs and biographical notes. The earlier years are represented by internationally significant artists such as Arnulf Rainer, Maria Lassnig, Friedensreich Hundertwasser, and Joseph Mikl. The next generation includes Hermann Nitsch, Gunter Brus, Martha Jungwirth, and Christian Ludwig Attersee. The collection is completed by the most recent artists, including Siegfried Anzinger, Erwin Bohatsch, Herbert Brandl, Gunter Damisch, and Hubert Scheibel.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 280 pages
  • 241.3 x 311.15 x 25.4mm | 1,610.25g
  • Munich, Germany
  • English
  • 198 colour and 122 b&w illustrations
  • 3791316672
  • 9783791316673

About Wieland Schmied

Wieland Schmied war bis 1973 Direktor der Kestner-Gesellschaft Hannover und bis 1975 Hauptkustos der Nationalgalerie Berlin; 1978-86 Direktor des DAAD und 1986-94 Professor für Kunstgeschichte an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in München. Seit 1995 Präsident der Bayerischen Akademie der Schönen Künste. Zahlreiche Publikationen zur Kunst des 19. und 20. Jahrhunderts. 1992 erhielt er den Österreichischen Staatspreis für Kulturpublizistik.
show more

Rating details

1 rating
4 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 100% (1)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X