The Atonal Music of Arnold Schoenberg, 1908-1923

The Atonal Music of Arnold Schoenberg, 1908-1923

3.8 (5 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


In the years from 1908 to 1923, Arnold Schoenberg developed a compositional strategy that moved beyond the accepted concepts and practices of Western tonality. Pieces form this period such as Pierrot Lunaire and Erwartung remain masterpieces of the modern repertoire. The lasting importance of Schoenberg's atonal music is reflected in the very large but fragmented critical and analytical literature that surrounds it. In this book, Bryan R. Simms synthesizes and advances the state of knowledge about this body of work, building up a comprehensive description from close analytical study.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 286 pages
  • 152.4 x 228.6 x 19.1mm | 576.07g
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New
  • 4 halftones, 2 line drawings, numerous music examples
  • 0195128265
  • 9780195128260
  • 1,556,058

Review quote

This study assesses Schoenberg's creative impulse and makes it understandable for perhaps the first time. Simms's seamless blend of an awareness of the composer's life with concise abstractions of his theories, supported by brief examples, makes this book a true achievement, one worthy of not only the scholar and student, but the lover of modern music as well. * CHOICE *
show more

Rating details

5 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 20% (1)
4 60% (3)
3 0% (0)
2 20% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X