Assassin's Price
32%
off

Assassin's Price

4.35 (405 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of L. E. Modesitt, Jr.'s, bestselling fantasy series the Imager Portfolio will be pleased with the latest novel in his new story arc. Six years have passed since the failed uprising of the High Holders against Rex Lorien. The man behind the conspiracy, High Holder Ryel, has been head of the council, where the rex and Maitre Alastarcan keep an eye on him. Charyn, eldest son of Lorien, has come of age and longs to better understand how Solidar has grown and changed so that he can become an effective rex. His father keeps much to himself, justifying his silence with "you've plenty of time." So Charyn decides to educate himself by learning all he can from factors, from craft masters, and from his father's advisors - circumspectly. When Jarolian privateers begin to disrupt Solidar's shipping, destroying ships and driving up the cost of goods, someone attempts to kill Charyn's younger brother. The threatening notes that follow in the wake of other acts of violence against the rex and his family demand action - build more ships or expect someone to die.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 528 pages
  • 156 x 247 x 42mm | 736g
  • St Martin's Press
  • Tor Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765390477
  • 9780765390479
  • 172,532

About L. E. Modesitt

L. E. MODESITT, JR. is the bestselling author of over seventy books including Rex Regis and Madness in Solidar. His work ranges from science fiction to fantasy, including the Imager Portfolio and Saga of Recluce series. He currently lives in Cedar City, Utah.show more

Review quote

Locus Bestseller List"A master of world-building."--What's New in Book Reviews"The series as a whole is exceptional. In fact, I am not sure whether I will nominate The Imager Portfolio or The Saga of Recluce for the Hugo's new Best Series award. Both series have moved fantasy forward."--SFRevu"How satisfying it is to settle down with another long, solid novel by L.E. Modesitt, Jr."--SF Crowsnest"The level of detail Modesitt brings to his world-building is, as always, both uncompromising and astonishing . . . one of the most complex depictions of the evolution of a fantasy universe ever."--Tor.com"L.E. Modesitt, Jr. . . . His name alone makes the promise of engaging adventure, be it of the high fantasy or science fiction variety."--Mania"With meticulously wrought characters and complex, logically developed plotting that towers above the fantasy norm." --Kirkus Reviews Locus Bestseller List"The series as a whole is exceptional. In fact, I am not sure whether I will nominate The Imager Portfolio or The Saga of Recluce for the Hugo's new Best Series award. Both series have moved fantasy forward."--SFRevu"How satisfying it is to settle down with another long, solid novel by L.E. Modesitt, Jr."--SF Crowsnest"The level of detail Modesitt brings to his world-building is, as always, both uncompromising and astonishing . . . one of the most complex depictions of the evolution of a fantasy universe ever."--Tor.com"L.E. Modesitt, Jr. . . . His name alone makes the promise of engaging adventure, be it of the high fantasy or science fiction variety."--Mania"With meticulously wrought characters and complex, logically developed plotting that towers above the fantasy norm." --Kirkus Reviews "The series as a whole is exceptional. In fact, I am not sure whether I will nominate The Imager Portfolio or The Saga of Recluce for the Hugo's new Best Series award. Both series have moved fantasy forward."--SFRevu"How satisfying it is to settle down with another long, solid novel by L.E. Modesitt, Jr."--SF Crowsnest"The level of detail Modesitt brings to his world-building is, as always, both uncompromising and astonishing . . . one of the most complex depictions of the evolution of a fantasy universe ever."--Tor.com"L.E. Modesitt, Jr. . . . His name alone makes the promise of engaging adventure, be it of the high fantasy or science fiction variety."--Mania"With meticulously wrought characters and complex, logically developed plotting that towers above the fantasy norm." --Kirkus Reviews "How satisfying it is to settle down with another long, solid novel by L.E. Modesitt, Jr."--SF Crowsnest"The level of detail Modesitt brings to his world-building is, as always, both uncompromising and astonishing . . . one of the most complex depictions of the evolution of a fantasy universe ever."--Tor.com"L.E. Modesitt, Jr. . . . His name alone makes the promise of engaging adventure, be it of the high fantasy or science fiction variety."--Mania"With meticulously wrought characters and complex, logically developed plotting that towers above the fantasy norm." --Kirkus Reviews How satisfying it is to settle down with another long, solid novel by L.E. Modesitt, Jr. SF Crowsnest The level of detail Modesitt brings to his world-building is, as always, both uncompromising and astonishing . . . one of the most complex depictions of the evolution of a fantasy universe ever. Tor.com L.E. Modesitt, Jr. . . . His name alone makes the promise of engaging adventure, be it of the high fantasy or science fiction variety. Mania With meticulously wrought characters and complex, logically developed plotting that towers above the fantasy norm. Kirkus Reviews"show more

Rating details

405 ratings
4.35 out of 5 stars
5 52% (210)
4 34% (138)
3 12% (49)
2 1% (6)
1 0% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X