Asking For It

Asking For It

4.04 (8,136 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night . . . Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 130 x 197 x 25mm | 254g
  • Quercus Publishing
  • Riverrun
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1784293202
  • 9781784293208
  • 2,968

Review quote

This unflinching, timely novel asks important questions about rape culture, sexism and social media abuse, tackling taboo themes with subtlety and sensitivity -- Anita Sethi * Observer * Blistering, unapologetic and vitally important -- Anna James A nuanced and insightful commentary on the intricacies of teenage female friendship and the internal and external pressures that young women face as they reach adulthood * Irish Mail on Sunday * Riveting . . . a timely, gripping and vital novel. * Western Mail * A razor-sharp look at gender issues - Glasgow Herald * Glasgow Herald * O'Neill has a keen ear for the catty argot of teenage girls and her writing is razor sharp . . . unsparing and unsentimental * Independent * Bold, brave . . . and brutal * Bookseller * A brave and important book about rape culture, sexism and victim-blaming in modern society. * Telegraph * A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart. * Red Magazine * A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble * Irish Examiner * Heartbreakingly accurate . . . handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all * Heat * A difficult, confronting and vital read * Elle * 'Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force' * Irish Independent * A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent * Stylist * Brilliant, harrowing * Observer * 'Riveting and essential' * New York Times *show more

About Louise O'Neill

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.show more

Review Text

'Riveting and essential ' New York Timesshow more

Rating details

8,136 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 37% (2,981)
4 40% (3,234)
3 17% (1,400)
2 5% (385)
1 2% (136)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X