Ask Me How I Got Here
29%
off

Ask Me How I Got Here

3.2 (896 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here. Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend--her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend--are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that--even though she knows it was the right decision for her--nothing is the same. She doesn't want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn't want to run cross country anymore; she can't bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who's going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 225 pages
  • 150 x 216 x 25mm | 318g
  • Greenwillow Books
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062387952
  • 9780062387950
  • 391,486

Review quote

This thought-provoking novel in verse is more about well-rounded Addie s gratifying process of self-determination than her choice to end her pregnancy. This absorbing book would be an excellent choice for teen book groups. --Booklist"show more

Rating details

896 ratings
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 14% (125)
4 26% (229)
3 35% (317)
2 18% (158)
1 7% (67)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X