Ashes to Ashes

Ashes to Ashes : The Songs of David Bowie, 1976-2016

4.53 (77 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


From the ultimate David Bowie expert comes this exploration of the final four decades of the popstar's musical career, covering every song he wrote, performed or produced from 1976 to 2016.Starting with Low, the first of Bowie's Berlin albums, and finishing with Blackstar, his final masterpiece released just days before his death in 2016, each song is annotated in depth and explored in essays that touch upon the song's creation, production, influences and impact.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 710 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 53.34mm | 929.86g
  • Repeater Books
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 1912248301
  • 9781912248308
  • 45,382

About Chris O'Leary

Chris O'Leary is a writer and editor based in western Massachusetts. He has written for Pitchfork, Slate, New York, Mojo, Billboard, and the Los Angeles Review of Books, and is the author of a previous book on the music of David Bowie: Rebel Rebel (Zero, 2015). Both Rebel Rebel and Ashes to Ashes are based on the blog that he created in 2009, "Pushing Ahead of the Dame" (
show more

Rating details

77 ratings
4.53 out of 5 stars
5 61% (47)
4 31% (24)
3 8% (6)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X