The Art of Dying

The Art of Dying : An eerie Scottish murder mystery (DI Westphall 3)

4.3 (55 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

DI WESTPHALL.
No ordinary detective.
No ordinary investigations. A twisting new crime series set in the Scottish Highlands. For fans of James Oswald and John Connolly.

'Douglas Lindsay is an underrated writer with an eccentric, blisteringly satirical voice . . . enjoyably bizarre. I loved it' Sunday Express

When businessman Thomas Peterson is killed outside a football ground in the Highlands, there are several witnesses. Yet the hunt for the killer is proving as futile as the search for a motive.

Possible connections to Russian money and an eerie retirement home are soon thrown into the mix. To further complicate things, DI Westphall's MI6 past is coming back to haunt him. Guilt stalks his dreams, but could there be a message in these nightmares?

Westphall is in danger of losing his head just when he needs it the most. He must find answers, and fast, before the murderer strikes again.

Praise for the DI Westphall series

'Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir' Publishers Weekly

'The Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality . . . This one comes thoroughly recommended' James Oswald

A darkly atmospheric thriller with a labyrinthine plot with more twists than a Grand Prix track. (Michael Wood, author of the DCI Matilda Darke series)

A really addictive plot, and so atmospheric. Clever and unexpected (S D Sykes, author of the Oswald de Lacy series)

'A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant' Tony Black, author of the DI Bob Valentine series
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 26mm | 261g
  • Mulholland Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473696992
  • 9781473696990
  • 289,010

Review quote

A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant -- Tony Black, author of the DI Bob Valentine series on Song of the Dead Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir * Publishers Weekly on Song of the Dead * Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality. I look forward to his next instalment. This one comes thoroughly recommended -- James Oswald on Boy in the Well This is the sort of book that is so well conceived it reminds you why writing at its best is spoken of as being a craft. It also establishes Douglas Lindsay as someone deserving to be spoken of as a master. * Shots * Praise for Douglas Lindsay and the DI Westphall series * - *
show more

About Douglas Lindsay

Douglas Lindsay was born in Scotland in 1964, at 2:38 am. Thirty-five years of little note ensued, before the world heralded the publication of his first book, The Long Midnight of Barney Thomson, which was adapted was adapted for the screen starring Robert Carlyle, Ray Winstone and Emma Thompson. As he was leaving the house to undertake a public engagement for the first time, his wife kissed him on the cheek and said, 'Whatever you do, don't be yourself...' Sadly, Lindsay continues to ignore her advice to this day.
Lindsay worked at the Ministry of Defence for over ten years and is married to a diplomat. He has lived in Dakar, Belgrade, Warsaw and Tallinn, an experience that inspired Song of the Dead. He now lives and writes full time in Somerset with his wife and their two children. Find him on Twitter at @DTSLindsay.
show more

Rating details

55 ratings
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 45% (25)
4 40% (22)
3 15% (8)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X