Arrowood and the Thames Corpses
37%
off

Arrowood and the Thames Corpses

4.37 (51 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A gripping historical crime novel, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom
'Crackles with energy and wit' The Times

South London, 1896.



William Arrowood, Victorian London's less salubrious private detective, is paid a visit by Captain Moon, the owner of a pleasure steamer moored on the Thames. He complains that someone has been damaging his boat, putting his business in jeopardy.


Arrowood and his trusty sidekick Barnett suspect professional jealousy, but when a shocking discovery is pulled from the river, it seems like even fouler play is afoot.


It's up to Arrowood and Barnett to solve the case, before any more corpses end up in the watery depths . . .


Praise for Mick Finlay:


'Another brilliant read from Mick Finlay . . . even better than [Arrowood]' B.A. Paris


'Astounding ... If you crave Victorian age murder mystery, love darkly gothic atmospheres and want your detective rather tattered and torn at the edges Arrowood is your man.' SHOTS


'Enthralling' Publishers Weekly (starred review)
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 26mm | 290g
  • HQ
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0008324522
  • 9780008324520
  • 36,098

Review quote

'Loved it - the sights, sounds, smells, and horrors of Victorian London are so vividly portrayed' Roz Watkins


'Mick Finlay's richly told story evokes the bustling all-encompassing worlds of CJ Samson and Charles Dickens. I loved it' Lesley Thomson



PRAISE FOR MICK FINLAY:



'Another brilliant read from Mick Finlay . . . even better than [Arrowood]' B.A. Paris


'gripping' Daily Telegraph


'astounding ... If you crave Victorian age murder mystery, love darkly gothic atmospheres and want your detective rather tattered and torn at the edges Arrowood is your man.' SHOTS


'Enthralling' Publishers Weekly (starred review)


'A gripping novel with an adept sense of place as well as a clear-eyed examination of the dark exigencies of human behaviour' Crime Time


'Arrowood is a flawed but engaging hero and the plot spins from peril to twist and back with real panache' The Times


'A fantastic creation' The Spectator


'Richly inventive' Daily Telegraph


'Compelling' Seattle Times


'Strongly reminiscent of Robert Galbraith's Cormoran Strike novels...a memorable detective who can stand among the best' Harrow Times


'Arrowood feels... like he's always existed, we're only now being treated to an introduction. Mick Finlay's atmospheric, detailed, singular London is a terrifying place I hope to return to again and again.' Ross Armstrong, bestselling author of The Watcher


'A book with enough warmth, charm, humour, and intrigue to signal the start of an excellent new series.' Vaseem Khan, author of The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra


'Stunningly dark and atmospheric crime debut. This is a story that packs a powerful punch. With murder, intrigue, dark humour, compelling characters and an extraordinary backdrop, it's to be hoped that Arrowood is just the opener for a thrilling and original new series.' Lancashire Evening Post
show more

About Mick Finlay

Mick was born in Glasgow but left as a young boy, living in Canada and then England. Before becoming an academic, he ran a market stall on Portobello Road, and has worked as a tent-hand in a travelling circus, a butcher's boy, a hotel porter, and in various jobs in the NHS and social services. He teaches in a Psychology Department, and has published research on political violence and persuasion, verbal and non-verbal communication, and disability. He now lives in Brighton with his family.
show more

Rating details

51 ratings
4.37 out of 5 stars
5 43% (22)
4 51% (26)
3 6% (3)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X