The Arrangement

The Arrangement : The perfect summer read - a heartwarming and feelgood romantic comedy

By (author)  , Read by 

List price: US$26.92

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A funny, warm debut novel bringing westernised Indian culture to the fore - perfect for fans of Bridget Jones's Diary and Bend it Like Beckham.

Twenty-nine year-old Raina is still unmarried and battling her family's expectations for her future - they think that by now she should have been married in a dream Indian wedding. The pressure reaches new heights when her grandmother, Nani, decides to play matchmaker in order to find her the perfect arranged marriage. Eager not to disappoint her family, Raina goes along with the plan but when the love of her life returns - ex-boyfriend Dev - she's forced to confront her true feelings. As she tries to free herself from the cultural pressures she faces, Raina realises that sometimes you have to disappoint those closest to you in order to forge your own path.

Read by Nina Wadia

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group
show more

Product details

  • Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Unabridged edition
  • 1409171337
  • 9781409171331

Review quote

Bright and vivid, and fresh and funny - I was utterly charmed by this insight into Raina's struggle to be the perfect Indian daughter. A delightful debut -- VERONICA HENRY, bestselling author of The Forever House An absolute treat - I loved it. My senses were buzzing with delight as I read it -- MILLY JOHNSON, bestselling author of The Queen of Wishful Thinking A perfect romance to lose yourself in * STYLIST * Impossible to read without a huge smile on your face. A superior slice of romantic comedy -- Best Books To Read This August * RED * A riotous odyssey into the pressures of cross-cultural modern dating that will chime with every 20-something singleton * ELLE * A gorgeous summer read about the complications of balancing family, friends and love. It's warm and funny, cringeworthy and romantic, and above all wonderfully uplifting -- CRESSIDA MCLAUGHLIN, bestselling author of The Canal Boat Cafe A delightfully different story of friendship, family and getting over heartbreak. It's fresh, funny and fabulously written - it had me hooked from the get-go -- ANNA BELL, bestselling author of The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart THE ARRANGEMENT is a funny and moving exploration of modern love. Sonya Lalli's observations on being single while Indian and female certainly resonated with me, and reminded me of the challenges of balancing family pressures with my desire for independence in my twenties. I enjoyed meeting all the men on Nani's list, even the disastrous dates, because they reflected the hit or miss reality of the modern arranged marriage experience -- BALLI KAUR JASWAL, bestselling author of Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows An Indian Bridget Jones, full of warmth and wit and so wise. What a fab book, I loved it -- LAURA KEMP, author of The Late Blossoming of Frankie Green THE ARRANGEMENT is a funny and thoroughly enjoyable read. Sonya Lalli had me rooting for Raina as she faced the pressures of her family's expectation. It's an engaging and very entertaining debut -- EMILY KERR, author of Who Does He Think He Is? Heartwarming and funny * WOMAN'S OWN *
show more

About Sonya Lalli

Sonya Lalli grew up in Canada and now works as a journalist in London. She was inspired to write her debut novel by the strong Indian women in her life, including her real-life Nani - who thankfully is yet to play matchmaker.


Visit her website www.sonyalalli.com or follow her on Twitter and Instagram @saskinthecity
show more