The Ark Plan

The Ark Plan

4.21 (357 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

List price: US$6.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Jurassic World meets Dawn of the Planet of the Apes in this epic new middle grade series full of heart-pounding action and breathtaking chills! "Amazing adventures!" raves Brightly.com as they recommend Edge of Extinction as a Holiday Gift for Tween Readers.

One hundred and fifty years ago, the first dinosaurs were cloned. Soon after, they replaced humans at the top of the food chain. The only way to survive was to move into underground compounds. . . .

Five years ago, Sky Mundy's father vanished from North Compound without a trace. Now she has just stumbled on a clue that not only suggests his disappearance is just the tip of an even larger mystery, but also points directly to the surface. To find her dad--and possibly even save the world--Sky and her best friend, Shawn, must break out of their underground home and venture topside to a land reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs.

Perfect for fans of Brandon Mull, Lisa McMann, and Rick Riordan, this exhilarating debut novel follows two courageous friends who must survive in a lost world that's as dangerous as they've always feared but also unlike anything they could ever have imagined.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 127 x 191 x 25mm | 249g
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0062416235
  • 9780062416230
  • 141,074

Back cover copy

I always thought that I wouldn't put you in danger for the world, but it turns out that for the world, I will. --Dad

one hundred and fifty years ago: The first dinosaurs were cloned. With their return came a prehistoric pandemic that nearly wiped out the human race. The only way to survive was to move underground, allowing the dinosaurs to take over. . . .

Five years ago: Sky Mundy's father mysteriously fled their home in North Compound, one of four facilities where the last remnants of humanity have been trying to rebuild, leaving her all alone.

Yesterday: Sky discovered a cryptic message from him telling her the fate of the world depends on Sky delivering a memory card to someone above ground. No one survives above ground.

Now: Sky is going anyway. Breaking out of North Compound with her best friend, Shawn, in tow, Sky has to try to fulfill her father's impossible request. As Sky ventures topside into this lost world reclaimed by nature and ruled by dinosaurs, she will discover it is just as dangerous as she had always feared . . . but it's also nothing like she had ever expected.

I heard the sound of a tree branch snap, and I jerked my head up, scanning the surrounding trees. I'd only been above for a minute, but that was more than enough time for them to get my scent. I turned on my heel and sprinted for the compound entrance. The ground began to tremble under my feet, and I had to remind myself not to panic. I could panic later, when I was safely underground with two feet of concrete above my head.

I spotted the first one out of the corner of my eye as it burst from the trees. Bloodred scales winked in the dawn light as its opaque eyes focused in on me.

I hit the twenty-yard mark with my heart trying to claw its way up my throat. The Deinonychus was gaining on me.

Fifteen yards. Ten yards. Five. Two.
show more

Review quote

"Martin takes the premise of Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park a step further. A harrowing journey filled with danger, dinosaurs, and surprises. A cliff-hanger ending ensures readers will eagerly await the next installment of this exciting new sci-fi series."--ALA Booklist
show more

Rating details

357 ratings
4.21 out of 5 stars
5 43% (152)
4 39% (139)
3 16% (57)
2 2% (8)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X