Aristophanes: Clouds

Aristophanes: Clouds

3.75 (7,187 ratings by Goodreads)
Edited and translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Clouds is a partly revised version of a play that failed when it was first produced. It has always fascinated (and usually shocked) students of philosophy because of its portrayal of Socrates as an atheist and a teacher of dishonest rhetoric, justly punished by the agents of the gods whom he refuses to recognise. This third edition was published in 1991, and has been reprinted in 2007 with addenda and a new bibliography. [Greek text with facing-page translation, commentary and notes.]
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 274 pages
  • 147 x 210 x 22.86mm | 430.91g
  • Aris & Phillips Ltd
  • Warminster, United Kingdom
  • Greek, Ancient (to 1453)
  • Revised
  • 3rd Revised edition
  • 0856682101
  • 9780856682100
  • 653,640

Table of contents

PrefaceAddenda 2007Select BibliographyBibliography to CloudsReferences and AbbreviationsCLOUDS Introductory Note Select Bibliography Note on the Text Sigla Text and Translation Notes
show more

Review quote

'Sommerstein has exercised throughout the refreshing independence of judgement, backed by learning.'
JACT 'This work is a fine and unpretentious introduction to Aristophanic comedy.'
Journal of Hellenic Studies 'For an overall series of the entire corpus, including critical text, commentary, translation, and full introduction, all subsumed to one man's intelligent analysis and wide-ranging scholarship, Sommerstein stands triumphantly alone. [...] Aristophanes is lucky to have so devoted, erudite, and witty a modern celebrant.'
show more

About Alan H. Sommerstein

Alan H. Sommerstein is Professor of Greek and Director for Ancient Drama and its Reception, University of Nottingham, and editor of a celebrated complete edition of Aristophanes volumes in the Aris & Phillips Classical Texts series. His many other publications include Aeschylean Tragedy (1996), an edition of Aeschylus Eumenides (1989), Greek Drama and Dramatists (2002) and Sophocles: Selected Fragmentary Plays Volumes 1 and 2 (2006, 2011) in this series.
show more

Rating details

7,187 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 29% (2,057)
4 31% (2,252)
3 29% (2,088)
2 9% (633)
1 2% (157)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X