Appleblossom the Possum
7%
off

Appleblossom the Possum

3.74 (858 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of New York Times Bestseller Counting by 7s Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it's time for all of them--even little Appleblossom--to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family--and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers--who launch a hilarious rescue mission--and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out! With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 152 x 190 x 18mm | 294.84g
  • Penguin Books India Pvt Ltd
  • Penguin Books India
  • New Delhi, India
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147512808
  • 9780147512802
  • 100,572

Review quote

Praise for "Appleblossom the Possum" "Readers will enjoy both the realistic details of a newborn possum making her way to her mother's pouch, and the fanciful view of adult possums' urban nightlife, complete with rooftop music and a conga line. . . . This attractive book will engage young readers intrigued by animals." "Booklist ""Insights about possums add an educational element to this otherwise comic adventure, while humorous illustrations capture the wee possums' antics and personalities. A warm and funny possum-family saga." "Kirkus Reviews" "A perfectly sweet animal tale, with just the right blend of humor, excitement, and uncertainty." "School Library Journal" "Amid the homey message that family matters most, Sloan seeds the story with assorted possum facts and vocabulary lessons, but it's the possum-as-actor metaphor . . . that generates the most fun." "Publishers Weekly" "From the Hardcover edition.""
show more

About Holly Goldberg Sloan

Holly Goldberg Sloan was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan and spent her childhood living in Holland, Istanbul, Turkey, Washington DC, Berkeley, California and Eugene, Oregon. After graduating from Wellesley College and spending some time as an advertising copywriter, she began writing and directing family feature films, including Angels in the Outfield and Made in America. Counting by 7s, her first middle-grade novel, was a New York Times Bestseller. The mother of two sons, Holly lives with her husband, who is the illustrator of this book, in Santa Monica, California.
show more

Rating details

858 ratings
3.74 out of 5 stars
5 24% (208)
4 37% (315)
3 30% (254)
2 8% (69)
1 1% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X