Apostle Rising

Apostle Rising

4.37 (48 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Detective Chief Inspector Frank Castle never caught the Woodlands Killer and it almost destroyed him. Now years later, mauled by the press, and traumatised by nightmares, he is faced with a copycat killer with detailed inside knowledge of the original case. He and his partner DI Jacki Stone enter a deadly labyrinth, and at its centre is the man Castle believes was responsible for the first killings. He's running a sinister cult and playing dark mind games with the police. The investigation has a shattering effect on the lives of Castle and Stone. The killer is crucifying politicians, and he keeps raising the stakes and slipping through their hands. Dark coded ritualistic killings are being carried out on high profile figures and the body count is rising. Castle employs a brilliant psychologist to help him solve the case, and he begins to dig into the killer's psyche. But some psychopaths are cleverer than others. 'Apostle Rising' is an extremely powerful Noir Crime story that contains a unique twist, timed to perfection by the author. It is a dark, layered narrative with detailed psychological profiling, and a chilling dimension of horror.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 374 pages
  • 129.54 x 193.04 x 33.02mm | 340.19g
  • Black Jackal Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0956711308
  • 9780956711304
  • 1,197,216

Review quote

News: Apostle Rising has sold foreign rights to Alexandra, the largest publishing house in Hungary. Reviews: "Apostle Rising by Richard Godwin has to be one of the best books I've read in ages. Fantastically written, fast-paced and terrifying. Just how I like them..." SUNDERLAND ECHO "The suspense and mystery are superb; you never understand the emotional depravity until the end. It is an end you never see coming." SEATTLE PI MAGAZINE "An arresting and cleverly plotted police procedural married to gothic horror - Apostle Rising is an unusual and memorable crime story." CRIME TIME MAGAZINE "This is daring stuff from Godwin - Rare for a crime novel, it has a lyrical, almost poetic style, beautifully written and well constructed." BOOKGEEKS MAGAZINE "A novel that is a must for fans of Val McDermid's Tony Hill and Ian Rankin's Rebus..." NEW BOOKS MAGAZINE "Richard Godwin's 'Apostle Rising' is a police procedural and psychological thriller of the first order. If you love Ken Bruen and John Connolly, Godwin's the man you'll be following next." SCOTT PHILLIPS, author of 'The Ice Harvest' "A brilliant new cop duo with a plot to die for and a killer that will terrify you." SHEILA QUIGLEY, author of 'Thorn In My Side' "Engrossing, exquisite, and extra-scary. Apostle Rising is not just another detective novel. It is also not for the faint of heart. It is a noir tour-de-force that will leave you breathless and teary-eyed." VINCENT ZANDRI, author of 'As Catch Can' and 'The Remains'show more

Table of contents

Cover About The Author Title Page Copyright Page Dedication Chapters 1 through 110 Recommended readingshow more

About Richard Godwin

Richard Godwin is a widely published crime and horror writer as well as a produced playwright. He was born in London and obtained a BA and MA in English and American Literature from King's College London. He has travelled the world extensively and lectured and worked in property. His second novel, 'Mr. Glamour', published by Black Jackal Books, was released on April 12, 2012 as a paperback. It is about a world of wealthy, beautiful people who can buy anything, except safety from the killer in their midst. His short stories have appeared in many magazines and anthologies, among them 'The Mammoth Book Of Best British Crime' and 'The Big Book Of Bizarro'. Links to all of his stories can be found on the Magazines page of his website at http://www.richardgodwin.net/magazines. He is a skilled interviewer and publishes his interviews with other authors as Chin Wags At The Slaughterhouse in the Blog section of his website at http://richardgodwin.net/. A full list of his works can also be found at his website.show more

Rating details

48 ratings
4.37 out of 5 stars
5 73% (35)
4 8% (4)
3 6% (3)
2 8% (4)
1 4% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X