Aphrodite Made Me Do It

Aphrodite Made Me Do It

4.02 (4,401 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Voted one of the best poetry collections of 2019 by readers on Goodreads! Bestselling and Goodreads Choice Award winning poet Trista Mateer takes a magical approach to self-care with her new collection, Aphrodite Made Me Do It.

In this empowering and feminist retelling, Mateer transforms the mythology of the goddess into 224 pages of modern poetry and full-color artwork. Broken into sections alternating between the perspective of The Poet and Aphrodite herself, the work within tackles the timeless topic of love--romantic, platonic, and self-love. The collection addresses issues like heartbreak, sexuality, womanhood, trauma, and the restorative power in taking control of your own lore, speaking your truths, and rewriting your origin story. If you let her, by the end of this book, Aphrodite will make you believe in the possibility of your own healing.

If you were only made to be beautiful, we wouldn't have put you down here in the dirt.Perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace, Nikita Gill, Rupi Kaur, Elizabeth Acevedo, Rick Riordan, and Madeline Miller; or anyone interested in Greek myths, tarot, and Instagram poetry.

Try Trista Mateer's other book of poetry, Honeybee.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 192 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 133mm | 326g
  • BC, Canada
  • English
  • 1771681748
  • 9781771681742
  • 48,545

Review quote

"Aphrodite Made Me Do It is a gentle scream from outside of your window. You will find grace between these pages and a little sadness, too--the kind that makes flowers grow in all of the places you need them most." --Wilder, author of Nocturnal
show more

About Trista Mateer

Trista Mateer is a visual artist, poet, writer and freelance editor who began putting words on paper at twelve and never found a good enough reason to stop. Known for her eponymous blog, she is now the author of multiple poetry collections, including When The Stars Wrote Back (2020), Aphrodite Made Me Do It (2019), Honeybee (2018), and The Dogs I Have Kissed (2015) which won a Goodreads Choice Award the year of its release.

She currently lives in a house by the sea in New Jersey; and when she's not wrangling her cat, Honeybun, she stares out at the water and waits for the words to wash ashore.

You can keep up with her @tristamateer on Instagram and Twitter and visit her website at tristamateer.com
show more

Rating details

4,401 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 39% (1,717)
4 34% (1,506)
3 19% (828)
2 6% (263)
1 2% (87)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X