Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables

4.26 (700,867 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


When red-headed orphan Anne Shirley arrives at Green Gables, she feels sure she's found the home she has always longed for. Her new adoptive parents, the Cuthberts, are less certain - they had asked the orphanage for a boy. But before long, Anne's irrepressible optimism and loving nature charms them. While her temper is unpredictable and her extravagant imagination makes her dreamily whimsical and prone to comic mishap, they come to love Anne as if she were their own child.

A celebration of the transformative power of love, Lucy Maud Montgomery's beloved children's classic is a brilliantly warm and funny portrait of a girl who has a second chance at childhood.

This beautiful Macmillan Collector's Library edition of Anne of Green Gables includes the original illustrations by M. A. & W. A. J. Claus and an afterword by publisher Anna South.

Designed to appeal to the booklover, the Macmillan Collector's Library is a series of beautiful gift editions of much loved classic titles. Macmillan Collector's Library are books to love and treasure.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 392 pages
  • 100 x 157 x 20mm | 217g
  • Macmillan Collector's Library
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 150982801X
  • 9781509828012
  • 65,268

Table of contents

Chapter - 1: Mrs Rachel Lynde is Surprised
Chapter - 2: Matthew Cuthbert is Surprised
Chapter - 3: Marilla Cuthbert is Surprised
Chapter - 4: Morning at Green Gables
Chapter - 5: Anne's History
Chapter - 6: Marilla Makes up Her Mind
Chapter - 7: Anne says Her Prayers
Chapter - 8: Anne's Bringing-up is Begun
Chapter - 9: Mrs Rachel Lynde is Properly Horrified
Chapter - 10: Anne's Apology
Chapter - 11: Anne's Impressions of Sunday School
Chapter - 12: A Solemn Vow and Promise
Chapter - 13: The Delights of Anticipation
Chapter - 14: Anne's Confession
Chapter - 15: A Tempest in the School Teapot
Chapter - 16: Diana is Invited to Tea, with Tragic Results
Chapter - 17: A New Interest in Life
Chapter - 18: Anne to the Rescue
Chapter - 19: A Concert, a Catastrophe and a Confession
Chapter - 20: A Good Imagination Gone Wrong
Chapter - 21: A New Departure in Flavourings
Chapter - 22: Anne is Invited out to Tea
Chapter - 23: Anne Comes to Grief in an Affair of Honour
Chapter - 24: Miss Stacy and Her Pupils get up a Concert
Chapter - 25: Matthew Insists on Puffed Sleeves
Chapter - 26: The Story Club is Formed
Chapter - 27: Vanity and Vexation of Spirit
Chapter - 28: An Unfortunate Lily Maid
Chapter - 29: An Epoch in Anne's Life
Chapter - 30: The Queen's Class is Organised
Chapter - 31: Where the Brook and River Meet
Chapter - 32: The Pass List is Out
Chapter - 33: The Hotel Concert
Chapter - 34: A Queen's Girl
Chapter - 35: The Winter at Queen's
Chapter - 36: The Glory and the Dream
Chapter - 37: The Reaper whose Name is Death
Chapter - 38: The Bend in the Road

Section - i: AFTERWORD
Section - ii: BIOGRAPHY
show more

About L. M. Montgomery

Lucy Maud Montgomery was born on Prince Edward Island, Canada, in 1874 and raised by her maternal grandparents following her mother's death. Biographical accounts of her upbringing suggest a strict and rather lonely childhood. She later spent a number of years working as a teacher before turning to journalism and then, ultimately, to writing fiction. Anne of Green Gables, published in 1908, was her first novel and has remained in print the world over ever since. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942.
show more

Rating details

700,867 ratings
4.26 out of 5 stars
5 52% (364,985)
4 29% (201,859)
3 14% (97,558)
2 3% (24,316)
1 2% (12,149)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X