The Angel Maker
16%
off

The Angel Maker : A Novel

3.85 (5,368 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A literary page-turner about one man's macabre ambition to create life-and secure immortality The village of Wolfheim is a quiet little place until the geneticist Dr. Victor Hoppe returns after an absence of nearly twenty years. The doctor brings with him his infant children-three identical boys all sharing a disturbing disfigurement. He keeps them hidden away until Charlotte, the woman who is hired to care for them, begins to suspect that the triplets-and the good doctor- aren't quite what they seem. As the villagers become increasingly suspicious, the story of Dr. Hoppe's past begins to unfold, and the shocking secrets that he has been keeping are revealed. A chilling story that explores the ethical limits of science and religion, The Angel Maker is a haunting tale in the tradition of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Frankenstein. Brought to life by internationally bestselling author Stefan Brijs, this eerie tale promises to get under readers' skin.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 346 pages
  • 127 x 195.58 x 17.78mm | 226.8g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0143113097
  • 9780143113096
  • 543,450

Review quote

aAn exciting novel about the dangerous and tempting possibilities of creating life.a
a"de Volkskrant" (Netherlands)
aAn intelligently composed page-turner.a
a"Stijl" (Belgium)
show more

About Stefan Brijs

Stefan Brijs was born in Belgium in 1969. He is the author of four novels. The Angel Maker is his first book to be translated into English.
show more

Rating details

5,368 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 26% (1,410)
4 43% (2,321)
3 22% (1,189)
2 6% (341)
1 2% (107)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X