An Ocean of Minutes
32%
off

An Ocean of Minutes

3.46 (2,847 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

AN INDIE NEXT PICK!
A "Best Book of 2018" --Real Simple "Lim's steady prose and deft character development ensured that I was hooked on Polly's story from beginning to end. [F]ull of fascinating social commentary on class differences, racism and sexism...it's easy to fall into this novel and become emotionally involved in Polly's journey and her search to find the people she loves." --Los Angeles Times In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven, a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart. America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him, even if it means risking everything. She agrees to a radical plan--time travel has been invented in the future to thwart the virus. If she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in twelve years. But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a changed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he is alive, and if their love has endured. An Ocean of Minutes is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story about the endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past--and the price of letting it go.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 142 x 216 x 28mm | 431g
  • English
  • 1501192558
  • 9781501192555
  • 2,071,900

Review quote

"Thea Lim's An Ocean of Minutes is that rare thing--a speculative novel that is as heartfelt as it is philosophical." --Esi Edugyan, Man Booker Prize Finalist and author of Washington Black
show more

Rating details

2,847 ratings
3.46 out of 5 stars
5 15% (430)
4 34% (971)
3 36% (1,031)
2 12% (329)
1 3% (86)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X