An Ember in the Ashes
26%
off

An Ember in the Ashes

4.32 (76,910 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of A Torch Against the Night INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLERAMAZON'S BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF 2015PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD WINNER - FAVORITE FANTASYBUSTLE'S BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF 2015 This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear. The Washington Post An Ember in the Ashescould launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory It has the addictive quality ofTheHunger Gamescombined with the fantasy ofHarry Potterand the brutality ofGame of Thrones. Public Radio International "An Ember in the Ashesglows, burns, and smolders as beautiful and radiant as it is searing." Huffington Post A worthy novel and one as brave as its characters. The New York Times Book Review Laia is a slave.Elias is a soldier.Neither is free. Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear. It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They ve seen what happens to those who do. But when Laia s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire s greatest military academy. There, Laia meets Elias, the school s finest soldier and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself. "show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 446 pages
  • 149.86 x 231.14 x 40.64mm | 589.67g
  • RAZORBILL
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1595148035
  • 9781595148032
  • 54,406

Review quote

Named one of the best books of the year by: AmazonBarnes & NobleThe Wall Street JournalBuzzfeedLA WeeklyBustlePaste MagazineIndigoSuspense MagazineThe New York Public LibraryPopsugarHypable *** This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear. The Washington Post [An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makesEmbera worthy novel andone as brave as its characters. The New York Times Book Review Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy. Us Weekly An Ember in the AshesmixesThe Hunger GameswithGame of Thrones...and adds a dash ofRomeo and Juliet. The Hollywood Reporter Blew me away...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic expect to be completely transported. MTV.com Fast-paced, well-structured andfull of twists and turns, An Ember in the Ashesis an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next. NPR Once you get caught up in the story, it s addictive, and there s no way you can put it downbefore you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn t. Bustle One thing I can say for sure: this is a page-turner. There comes a moment when it's impossible to put it down. Sabaa Tahir is a strong writer, but most of all, she's a great storyteller. TheHuffington Post This epic fantasy set in the Martial Empire has it all danger and violence, secrets and lies, strong characters and forbidden romance and a touch of the supernatural. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; anda villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs...An Ember in the Ashesis at thetop of our must-read listfor 2015. MTV.com Be prepared to be blown away by this fantasy-thriller-adventure. Girls Life An Ember in the Ashes is a book that's too good to put down. RedEye Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater'sThe Scorpio Racesor Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC! TeenVogue.com* Tahir sdeft, polished debutalternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. Ina tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie. Publishers Weekly, starred review Tahir s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized....For fans ofGame of Thronesand of Melina Marchetta sFinnikin of the Rock. School Library Journal An original, well-constructed fantasy world...truly engaging. Kirkus Reviews Anepic fantasy debutabout an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It s a story that s literally burning to be told. Hypable.com First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope. Booklist Here'sone of the year's most anticipatedyoung-adult debuts. io9.com I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight.If that doesn t convince you to readAn Ember in the Ashes, I don t know what will.An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debutthat will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world s ready for Sabaa Tahir. Marie Lu, New York Timesbestselling author ofLegend WithAn Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times. #1New York Timesbestselling author Brandon Sanderson An Ember in the Ashesisa spectacular page turnerthat asks readers to consider how far they d go to save the ones they love.Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fictionand her debut is as cinematic asGladiatorand as high-stakes asGame of Thrones. Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Timesbestselling author ofCounting by 7s A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down. Margaret Stohl, New York Timesbestselling co-author ofBeautiful Creatures This electric debut is apulse-pounding action-packedRomeo and Julietstory in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you ll root for and won t stop thinking about. Melissa de la Cruz, New York Timesbestselling author ofFrozenandThe Ring and the Crown "show more

About Sabaa Tahir

Sabaa Tahir grew up in California s Mojave Desert at her family s eighteen-room motel. There, she spent her time devouring fantasy novels, raiding her brother s comic book stash, and playing guitar badly. She began writing An Ember in the Asheswhile working nights as a newspaper editor. She likes thunderous indie rock, garish socks, and all things nerd. Sabaa currently lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family. For more information, please visit Sabaa at SabaaTahir.com or on Twitter @SabaaTahir."show more

Review Text

Early Praise for An Ember in the Ashes : "Tahir's deft, polished debut alternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. In a tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie." - Publishers Weekly, starred review "Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy."- US Weekly "Blew me away ...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic -expect to be completely transported." - MTV.com "Perfect for fans of Maggie Stievater's The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series... The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!" - TeenVogue.com "A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs . . . 'An Ember in the Ashes' is at the top of our must-read list for 2015."- MTV.com "The much anticipated fantasy An Ember in the Ashes ... mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones . . . and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet ." - The Hollywood Reporter "An original, well-constructed fantasy world... truly engaging." - Kirkus Reviews "Highly anticipated" - WallStreetJournal.com "An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It's a story that's literally burning to be told." - Hypable.com "First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope."- Booklist "Here's one of the year's most anticipated young-adult debuts," - Io9.com "Tahir's world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized.... For fans of Game of Thrones and of Melina Marchetta's Finnikin of the Rock."-School Library Journal "I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn't convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes , I don't know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world's ready for Sabaa Tahir."- Marie Lu , New York Times bestselling author of Legend " An Ember in the Ashes is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they'd go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones ." -Holly Goldberg Sloan , New York Time s bestselling author of Counting by 7s "A heart-pounding story of love and loss , with the most original world-building I've read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down."- Margaret Stohl , New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Creatures "This electric debut is a pulse-pounding action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you'll root for and won't stop thinking about."- Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of Frozen and The Ring and the Crown " With An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times."- No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sandersonshow more
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X