American Ace

American Ace

3.52 (400 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$9.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, this novel in verse explores American history and race through the eyes of a teen boy embracing his newfound identity.

Connor's grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter's confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father.
But the only clues to this birth father's identity are a class ring and a pair of pilot's wings. And so Connor takes it upon himself to investigate--a pursuit that becomes even more pressing when Dad is hospitalized after a stroke. His hunt brings him to the history of the Tuskegee Airmen, and leads him and his father to a new, richer understanding of race, identity, and each other.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 128 pages
  • 139.7 x 209.55mm | 454g
  • SPEAK
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147517672
  • 9780147517678
  • 2,093,277

Review quote

Praise for American Ace
[Nelson s] meticulous verse is the perfect vehicle to convey the devastating fragility of racial and familial identity in an America where interracial love is still divided through the problem of the color line. Kirkus Reviews, starred review
Inspired by her father s remarkable experiences as a Tuskegee Airman, esteemed historian-poet Nelson has aced it again. . . . This slice of history has been told before, but not like this. Booklist
Nelson s powerful command of language is inarguable. Publishers Weekly
A quietly powerful story about race, ignorance, and identity from a poetry master. Bustle.com
A skillful exploration into identity, culture, and race. Examiner.com
A gorgeous story that stays with you long after you finish. Buzzfeed
A bright spot in historical fiction. BookPage
Stunning. Shelf Awareness"
show more

About Marilyn Nelson

Marilyn Nelson is a three-time National Book Award finalist, has won a Newbery Honor, a Printz Honor, and several Coretta Scott King Honors, and has received several prestigious poetry awards, including the Poets' Prize and the Robert Frost Medal "for distinguished lifetime service to American poetry." Her most recent book, How I Discovered Poetry, was named a Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book and an ALA Notable Children's Book.
show more

Rating details

400 ratings
3.52 out of 5 stars
5 15% (60)
4 37% (149)
3 34% (138)
2 12% (47)
1 2% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X