Amelia Unabridged
23%
off

Amelia Unabridged : A Novel

4.16 (3,766 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Eighteen-year-old Amelia Griffin is obsessed with the famous Orman Chronicles, written by the young and reclusive prodigy N. E. Endsley. They're the books that brought her and her best friend Jenna together after Amelia's father left and her family imploded. So when Amelia and Jenna get the opportunity to attend a book festival with Endsley in attendance, Amelia is ecstatic. It's the perfect way to start off their last summer before college.

In a heartbeat, everything goes horribly wrong. When Jenna gets a chance to meet the author and Amelia doesn't, the two have a blowout fight like they've never had before. And before Amelia has a chance to mend things, Jenna dies in a freak car accident. Grief-stricken, and without her best friend to guide her, Amelia questions everything she had planned for the future.

When a mysterious, rare edition of the Orman Chronicles arrives, Amelia is convinced that it somehow came from Jenna. Tracking the book to an obscure but enchanting bookstore in Michigan, Amelia is shocked to find herself face-to-face with the enigmatic and handsome N. E. Endsley himself, the reason for Amelia's and Jenna's fight and perhaps the clue to what Jenna wanted to tell her all along.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 146 x 218 x 29mm | 385g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250253020
  • 9781250253026
  • 388,026

Review quote

* A Top Ten 2022 Texas Tayshas Reading List Pick *
* An OKLAHOMAN Bestseller *
* A Spring 2021 Indie Next Pick *

BOOK RIOT, "Winter 2021 YA Books for Your TBR"

BUZZFEED, 17 YA Books That Will Make You Shed a Tear Every Time

GOODREADS, "Most Anticipated YA Titles of 2021"

CULTURESS, "21 YA Book Releases We Can't Wait to Read in 2021"

GOODREADS, 30 New Reads for Very Bookish People

Amelia Unabridged by Ashley Schumacher is a devastatingly beautiful examination of grief, hope, and friendship. A gorgeous debut, Schumacher does not hold back her punches emotionally but also takes care to make sure her readers get reprieve from the heaviness of the story, providing the comfort of a library where magical whales fly through the shelves. Amelia Unabridged is an honest and impactful glance into the complexity of tragedy and what follows. - THE YOUNG FOLKS, Top 5 Debuts of 2020

Why Ted Lasso fans will love it: If you love Ted and Rebecca scenes, you'll love this. - BUZZFEED, 19 Books That Ted Lasso Fans Will Adore

Heart-wrenching in its raw emotion and sadness, Ashley Schumacher writes a story so captivating it will leave her readers breathless and gasping for air... - DIXON INDEPENDENT VOICE

Raw, heartfelt, and beautiful, Amelia Unabridged is a powerful read about grief, love, and finding your truths. Highly recommend for fans of If I Stay, Looking for Alaska, and Bridge to Terabithia. - YA BOOKS CENTRAL

Do you enjoy a good cry immediately followed by hugging a book close to your chest and taking a deep breath? Then this book is for you! - BUZZFEED

"Ultimately a story of self-discovery offered up with the sweetness of wish-fulfillment romance, it's a novel sure to please anyone who wants a story of love and reading." - BULLETIN FOR THE CENTER OF CHILDREN'S BOOKS

Schumacher centers storytelling as a means of expression, connection, and keeping the dead alive in this emotionally immersive debut....Employing expressive prose that communicates the emotion and tumult that can accompany the death of a loved one at any age, Schumacher leaves characters--and readers--with a sense of hope. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Schumacher's lovely debut will have romantics swooning over blonde-haired, blue-eyed Amelia and black-haired Nolan's love story. These two teens have endured loss and family trauma, but both have found acceptance and family elsewhere, and bring out the best in each other. The novel is also an ode to the love of reading and how books can provide the magic and comfort needed during difficult times. Recommended for all YA collections. - SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

A beautiful, quirky, and magical story about broody authors, best friendships, and the imaginary worlds we call home. With lyrical prose and a romance that'll sweep you off your feet, Ashley Schumacher makes you believe in the impossibility of happily ever afters. - ASHLEY POSTON, author of Geekerella

"Schumacher wrote a glittering love letter of a debut, aimed at the hearts and souls of book worms everywhere. The layered and complex stories shared by sweet Amelia and revised by the enigmatic Nolan, broke my heart and bound it back together once more, sealed with a perfect kiss." - ERIN HAHN, author of You'd Be Mine
show more

About Ashley Schumacher

ASHLEY SCHUMACHER has a degree in creative writing from the University of North Texas. She lives in a small town with her antisocial but lovable husband and more books than is strictly necessary. When she's not reading or writing, you can find her belting Disney or Broadway songs, protecting her snacks from her greedy golden retriever, hand embroidering, or playing Mario Kart. Amelia Unabridged is her first novel. She lives in Dallas, Texas.
show more

Rating details

3,766 ratings
4.16 out of 5 stars
5 45% (1,686)
4 33% (1,255)
3 16% (614)
2 4% (159)
1 1% (52)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X