Almost Super

Almost Super

4.08 (823 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Perfect for fans of Pixar's The Incredibles, Almost Super is a fresh, funny middle grade adventure about two brothers in a family of superheroes who must find a way to be heroic despite receiving powers that are total duds. Filled with humor, heart, and just the right kind of heroics, Almost Super is a winning story that will satisfy would-be heroes and regular kids alike.

Everyone over the age of twelve in the Bailey family gets a superpower. No one knows why, and no one questions it. All the Baileys know is that it's their duty to protect the world from the evil, supervillainous Johnson family. *shake fists*

But when Rafter Bailey and his brother Benny get their superpowers, they're, well . . . super-lame. Rafter can strike matches on polyester, and Benny can turn his innie belly button into an outie. Along with Rafter's algebra class nemesis, Juanita Johnson, Rafter and Benny realize that what they thought they knew about superheroes and supervillains may be all wrong. And it's up to the three of them to put asides their differences and make things right. They may not have great powers, but together, they're almost super.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 129.54 x 185.42 x 20.32mm | 45.36g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062209620
  • 9780062209627
  • 250,794

Back cover copy

On February 29th, at 4:23 P.M., everyone in the Bailey family over the age of twelve gets a superpower.

No one knows why, and no one questions it. All the Baileys know is that it's their duty to protect the world from those evil, supervillainous Johnsons.

Today, Rafter Bailey and his brother Benny are finally going to get their superpowers. Only when their powers arrive, they are--well--duds. Rafter can light matches on polyester, and Benny can turn his innie belly button into an outie.

How is Rafter supposed to defeat his algebra class nemesis, Juanita Johnson, now?
show more

Review quote

"A solid debut: fluent, funny and eminently sequel-worthy." -- Kirkus Reviews "Packed with action and humor, this is a superhero tale in the spirit of The Incredibles. Jensen's wit and light tone give the story a playful quality while still managing to incorporate suspense. Family dynamics and teamwork drive a plot that has, above all, a super amount of heart." -- Booklist "Jensen employs a clever tongue-in-cheek humor throughout. The short chapters and action packed sequences keep the pages turning. Reluctant readers and fans of the Pixar movie The Incredibles will be excited to find out what happens in the sequel." -- School Library Journal
show more

About Marion Jensen

Marion Jensen lives in Farmington, Utah. He is one mile away from a large amusement park, two miles away from the Great Salt Lake, and three miles away from thousands of acres of national forest. But he stays indoors all day so he can write books that people will laugh at.
show more

Rating details

823 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 38% (314)
4 39% (318)
3 19% (153)
2 3% (27)
1 1% (11)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X