Almost Adults

Almost Adults : The relatable and life-affirming story about female friendship you need to read in summer 2019

3.77 (226 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Encapsulates the highs and lows of friendship in your twenties. Perfect for fans of Dolly AldertonThe struggle is real but at least they're all in it together.

Ever managed to kill a succulent after just a few days?
Got seven reminder letters on the kitchen table because you forgot to pay your council tax?
Become a hot mess who's falling apart because they've been broken up with?

Mackie, Edele, Alex and Nat are navigating their chaotic and confusing twenties together. They have jobs and pay their own rent (well, most of them) but don't know how to bleed radiators, defrost a freezer or test the smoke alarms.

With break-ups to deal with and major decisions to make, life can get messy especially when they're still trying to get the hang of this 'being a grown-up' thing.

Welcome to the joys of being almost adults.


A relatable and uplifting coming-of-age novel about 'adulting' and female friendships perfect for fans of Holly Bourne's How Do You Like Me Now?, Beth O'Leary's The Flatshare and Lucy Vine's Are We Nearly There Yet?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 126 x 198 x 23mm | 260g
  • Ebury Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529104300
  • 9781529104301
  • 407,148

Review Text

"Ali Pantony brilliantly taps into how hard adulthood can be but how our friends are there for all the ups and downs. Funny, relatable and life-affirming, this is the must-read book of the summer"
show more

Review quote

A very real, raw and relatable story about the beauty of female friendship. Ali writes with great humour and with an obvious, infectious appreciation of what matters in life. It's genuinely a delight to read -- KATE LEAVER * bestselling author of The Friendship Cure * A beautiful exploration of friendship and growing up -- LAURA JANE WILLIAMS * bestselling author of Our Stop * Ali Pantony brilliantly taps into how hard adulthood can be but how our friends are there for all the ups and downs. Funny, relatable and life-affirming, this is the must-read book of the summer * GLAMOUR * A funny, relatable and beautifully uplifting story about the agony and ecstasy of growing up in your twenties. I smiled, laughed (and cringed!) as I read this engaging tale of female friendship -- ROXIE COOPER * bestselling author of The Day We Met * ALMOST ADULTS celebrates the power of female friendship. Ali has created a cast of four twenty-something women who show that no matter what happens in life, they will always have each other. In turn moving, funny, real and wise, this is a book that will stay with you long after you've turned the final page -- ALICE PETERSON * bestselling author of If You Were Here * In one easy-to-read, thoroughly enjoyable book Ali Pantony manages to chart the highs and lows of love, loss and friendship without skipping over any of the gory bits. It makes you laugh, it makes you cry, it makes you hope, it makes you feel, and most importantly, it reminds you that you're not alone * RED MAGAZINE * ALMOST ADULTS brilliantly captures female friendships in all its forms and flaws. You'll want to message the girls immediately after reading -- YOU MAGAZINE Ali's writing is such a tonic. She puts emotions and friendship to paper so beautifully and heartbreakingly. I loved Almost Adults and I know everyone else will too -- LUCY VINE * bestselling author of Hot Mess and Are We Nearly There Yet? * Lively, charming and a really authentic, intimate look at the highs and lows of female friendship. I enjoyed ALMOST ADULTS enormously -- DAISY BUCHANAN * bestselling author of The Sisterhood * ALMOST ADULTS is a tonic for anyone with a niggling suspicion they may not have this 'growing up' business completely sussed. Pantony's writing is funny, searingly honest and a total treat * EVENING STANDARD MAGAZINE * Encapsulates the highs and lows of friendship in your twenties. Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton * COSMOPOLITAN *
show more

About Ali Pantony

Ali Pantony is a freelance writer and editor. Her writing has appeared in Glamour, Grazia, BBC Three, Refinery29, Vice, Red and Evening Standard. Almost Adults is her debut novel.

Ali was born in Maidstone, Kent, and lives in North London. You can follow Ali on Twitter and Instagram @alipantony
show more

Rating details

226 ratings
3.77 out of 5 stars
5 19% (42)
4 47% (107)
3 27% (62)
2 6% (14)
1 0% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X