All the Bright Places
23%
off

All the Bright Places

4.19 (153,578 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine A New York Times bestseller Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning! A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick! Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself--a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink. This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven. "At the heart--a big one--of "All the Bright Places" lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." -- New York Times Book Review ..".this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters--or her audience." -- Entertainment Weeklyshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 388 pages
  • 144.78 x 215.9 x 40.64mm | 544.31g
  • Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • English
  • 0385755880
  • 9780385755887
  • 17,748

Review quote

"At the heart - a big one - of "All the Bright Places" lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." -- New York Times Book Review ..".this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters - or her audience." -- Entertainment Weekly "Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review "In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny. . . The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities--and limits--of love in the face of mental illness." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics... Finch in particular will linger in readers' minds long after the last page is turned." --School Library Journal, starred review "Ultimately, the book, with narration that alternates between Finch and Violet, becomes Violet's story of survival and recovery, affirming the value of loving deeply, grieving openly, and carrying your light forward." --The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Have The Fault in Our Stars withdrawal? Pick up this heartrending novel about a girl who vows to live with purpose after bonding with a boy who plans to end his own life." -- SELF Magazine "It's touching, vibrant, and an impressively honest depiction of depression." -- BuzzFeed A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015 A Miami Herald Best Books for Children 2015 GoodReads Choice Awards 2015 Young Adult Fiction Category Winner A TIME Top Young Adult Book of 2015 A NPR 2015 Guide to Great Reads Bookshow more

About Jennifer Niven

All the Bright Places is Jennifer Niven's first book for young adult readers, but she has written four novels for adults--American Blonde, Becoming Clementine, Velva Jean Learns to Fly, and Velva Jean Learns to Drive--as well as three nonfiction books--The Ice Master, Ada Blackjack, and The Aqua-Net Diaries, a memoir about her high school experiences. Although she grew up in Indiana, she now lives with her fiance and literary cats in Los Angeles, which remains her favorite place to wander. For more information, visit JenniferNiven.com, GermMagazine.com, or find her on Facebook.show more

Review Text

"At the heart - a big one - of "All the Bright Places" lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." - New York Times Book Review "...this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters - or her audience." - Entertainment Weekly "Many teen novels touch on similar themes, but few do it so memorably." - Kirkus Reviews, s tarred review "In her YA debut, adult author Niven creates a romance so fresh and funny. . . The journey to, through, and past tragedy is romantic and heartbreaking, as characters and readers confront darkness, joy, and the possibilities-and limits-of love in the face of mental illness." -Publishers Weekly , starred review "The writing in this heartrending novel is fluid, despite the difficult topics... Finch in particular will linger in readers' minds long after the last page is turned." -School Library Journal , starred review "Ultimately, the book, with narration that alternates between Finch and Violet, becomes Violet's story of survival and recovery, affirming the value of loving deeply, grieving openly, and carrying your light forward." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Have The Fault in Our Stars withdrawal? Pick up this heartrending novel about a girl who vows to live with purpose after bonding with a boy who plans to end his own life." - SELF Magazine "It's touching, vibrant, and an impressively honest depiction of depression." - BuzzFeed A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2015 A Miami Herald Best Books for Children 2015 GoodReads Choice Awards 2015 Young Adult Fiction Category Winner A TIME Top Young Adult Book of 2015 A NPR 2015 Guide to Great Reads Bookshow more

Rating details

153,578 ratings
4.19 out of 5 stars
5 48% (74,074)
4 31% (47,770)
3 14% (22,116)
2 4% (6,590)
1 2% (3,028)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X