All Rights Reserved
24%
off

All Rights Reserved : A New YA Science Fiction Book

3.7 (2,613 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In a world where every word and gesture is copyrighted, patented or trademarked, one girl elects to remain silent rather than pay to speak, and her defiant and unexpected silence threatens to unravel the very fabric of society.Speth Jime is anxious to deliver her Last Day speech and celebrate her transition into adulthood. The moment she turns fifteen, Speth must pay for every word she speaks ("Sorry" is a flat ten dollars and a legal admission of guilt), for every nod ($0.99/sec), for every scream ($0.99/sec) and even every gesture of affection. She's been raised to know the consequences of falling into debt, and can't begin to imagine the pain of having her eyes shocked for speaking words that she's unable to afford.But when Speth's friend Beecher commits suicide rather than work off his family's crippling debt, she can't express her shock and dismay without breaking her Last Day contract and sending her family into Collection. Backed into a corner, Speth finds a loophole: rather than read her speech--rather than say anything at all--she closes her mouth and vows never to speak again. Speth's unexpected defiance of tradition sparks a media frenzy, inspiring others to follow in her footsteps, and threatens to destroy her, her family and the entire city around them.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 137 x 208 x 36mm | 476g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 0373212445
  • 9780373212446
  • 221,026

Review quote

ABA Indiebound - 2017 Summer/Fall Indies Introduce PickABA Indiebound - Autumn 2017 Kids' Indie Next List Pick"A chilling, unnerving, and timely debut novel about what it means to speak out, even in silence." -Katharine McGee, New York Times bestselling author of The Thousandth Floor"A nightmarish future...Fast-paced action sequences...A fresh and detailed dystopian tale." -Kirkus"By the end of this first book, readers will be thinking about every word they speak, knowing, as Speth does, that 'words matter.'" -Booklist"Between the clever premise and the protagonist's stand against a repressive society, Katsoulis's work is timely and will appeal to fans of Dan Wells's Bluescreen, M.T. Anderson's Feed, Cecelia Ahern's Flawed, or Scott Westerfeld's Uglies [series]." -School Library Journal"Though she doesn't speak, Speth has been given a distinctive and memorable voice by Gregory Scott Katsoulis. All Rights Reserved is both deeply troubling and utterly captivating; a must read for fans of the dystopic, and more specifically of M.T. Anderson's Feed." -Shelf Awareness"Intense... A provocative setup." -Publishers Weekly
show more

Rating details

2,613 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 22% (567)
4 39% (1,025)
3 29% (754)
2 9% (230)
1 1% (37)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X