Aftershock & Others

Aftershock & Others

4 (372 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?


Aftershock and Others is the third collection of short fiction by New York Times bestselling author F. Paul Wilson, hailed by the Rocky Mountain News as "among the finest storytellers of our times." The title novelette won the Bram Stoker Award. Its companions touch on the past, present, and future--from the inflationary insanity of Weimar Germany ("Aryans and Absinthe") to disco-club-era Manhattan ("When He Was Fab"), to the rationing of medical services in a grim near future ("Offshore"). Wilson's stylistic diversity and versatility are on display in stories that pay tribute to Ray Bradbury ("The November Game"), use a sentient killer virus as a point-of-view character ("Lysing toward Bethlehem"), and pay unabashed homage to pure pulp fiction in two yellow peril stories ("Sex Slaves of the Dragon Tong" and "Part of the Game"). And finally, Wilson treats us to his popular antihero Repairman Jack at his most inventive: trapped in a drugstore with four killers ("Interlude at Duane's").show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 154.94 x 231.14 x 27.94mm | 399.16g
  • St. Martins Press-3pl
  • New York
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0765325241
  • 9780765325242
  • 1,401,686

Flap copy

Praise for author F. Paul Wilson: "F. Paul Wilson is a great storyteller and a thoughtful one. He speculates about real science to generate real suspense while raising troubling, real issues we may all be dealing with much sooner than we expect."--David Morrell, author of First Blood "F. Paul Wilson is a writer's writer, and I grab anything he's written with enthusiasm."--Joe R. Lansdale, author of Freezer Burn "Like the best of Dean Koontz's work, Wilson's work combines an action-adventure yarn with a touch of the fantastic."--The Denver Postshow more

Review quote

"Displays an expert grasp of storytelling mechanics and an impressive breadth of themes and approaches.... Wilson establishes characters with a few deft strokes, quickly sets up a tricky plot, and then masterfully maneuvers the reader to a well-orchestrated (and sometimes surprising) ending." --Publishers Weekly "Wilson is a great writer and his skill with short stories is equal to his talent with novels...a must-have for every fan of crime fiction and great action." --Crimespree Magazine "Lights are going to be staying on all night as the pages turn." --RT Book Reviewsshow more

About F Paul Wilson

F. Paul Wilson is the New York Times bestselling author of horror, adventure, medical thrillers, science fiction, and virtually everything in between. His books include the Repairman Jack novels, including Ground Zero, The Tomb, and Fatal Error; the Adversary cycle, including The Keep; and a young adult series featuring the teenage Jack. Wilson has won the Prometheus Award, the Bram Stoker Award, the Inkpot Award from the San Diego Comic-Con, and the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Horror Writers of America, among other honors. He lives in Wall, New more

Rating details

372 ratings
4 out of 5 stars
5 34% (126)
4 38% (140)
3 24% (89)
2 4% (14)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X