After the Shot Drops

After the Shot Drops

4.15 (2,225 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.15 (2,225 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Pena, and Walter Dean Myers. Bunny and Nasir have been best friends forever, but when Bunny accepts an athletic scholarship across town, Nasir feels betrayed. While Bunny tries to fit in with his new, privileged peers, Nasir spends more time with his cousin, Wallace, who is being evicted. Nasir can't help but wonder why the neighborhood is falling over itself to help Bunny when Wallace is in trouble. When Wallace makes a bet against Bunny, Nasir is faced with an impossible decisio - maybe a dangerous one. Told from alternating perspectives, After the Shot Drops is a heart-pounding story about the responsibilities of great talent and the importance of compassion. AGES: 14 and up AUTHOR: andy Ribay was born in the Philippines and raised in the Midwest on a diet of books and Pokemon cards. Ribay is the author of An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes. A graduate of the University of Colorado and the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Ribay is an English teacher at a private school in Palo Alto, California, and a reviewer for The Horn Book.
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 30.48mm | 430.91g
  • HMH Books for Young Readers
  • Boston, United States
  • English
  • 1328702278
  • 9781328702272
  • 626,167

Review quote

"Ribay's depictions of Bunny's and Nasir's lives are beautifully--if not tragically--drawn...[Ribay] painstakingly shows the state of (sometimes violent) desperation for many young men of the inner city, buoyed only by the distant chance of a better life through stardom. Despite its downbeat aspects, the story nevertheless manages to infuse humanity into the boys' lives by showcasing the importance of family, the value of friendship, and the importance of courage in the face of difficult situations." -- Booklist "A well-executed book featuring complex, diverse characters we rarely meet--a real winner for its heartbeat, compassion, and integrity."--Kirkus, STARRED review "Without a doubt, Ribay's compelling book belongs on the shelf alongside contemporary heavy-hitters like Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give, Brendan Kiely and Jason Reynolds's All-American Boys, and Nic Stone's Dear Martin."--School Library Journal, STARRED review "As the boys take tentative steps to salvage their friendship, they navigate high-stakes choices and consider the value of loyalty, integrity, and sacrifice in a story driven by fast-paced drama on and off the court."-Publishers Weekly, STARRED review "Readers will race through the intrigue and volatile basketball action to the explosive conclusion."--Horn Book Magazine --
show more

About Randy Ribay

Randy Ribay was born in the Philippines and raised in the Midwest on a diet of books and Pokémon cards. Ribay is the author of An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes. A graduate of the University of Colorado and the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Ribay is an English teacher in Palo Alto, California, and a reviewer for The Horn Book.
show more

Rating details

2,225 ratings
4.15 out of 5 stars
5 36% (800)
4 46% (1,034)
3 15% (342)
2 1% (31)
1 1% (18)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X