After the Woods
26%
off

After the Woods

3.26 (1,660 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Statistically speaking, girls like me don't come back when guys like Donald Jessup take us." Julia knows she beat the odds. She escaped the kidnapper who hunted her in the woods for two terrifying nights that she can't fully remember. Now it's one year later, and a dead girl turns up in those same woods. The terrible memories resurface, leaving Julia in a stupor at awkward moments-in front of gorgeous Kellan MacDougall, for example. At least Julia's not alone. Her best friend, Liv, was in the woods, too. When Julia got caught, Liv ran away. Is Liv's guilt over leaving Julia the reason she's starving herself? Is hooking up with Shane Cuthbert, an addict with an explosive temper, Liv's way of punishing herself for not having Julia's back? As the devastating truth about Liv becomes clear, Julia realizes the one person she thinks she knows best-Liv-is the person she knows least of all. And that after the woods was just the beginning.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 296 pages
  • 142 x 213 x 36mm | 386g
  • Farrar, Straus & Giroux Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0374300550
  • 9780374300555
  • 489,039

Review quote

After the Woods -Savage offers up a mystery wrapped in a psychological breakthrough tied with the bow of lyrical language. The characters are engaging beyond their habitation of an intricately woven plot and supply readers with the motivation to care beyond the simple solving of the mystery. A riveting exploration of what it's like when the enemy is much closer than you suspect.- --Kirkus Reviews, starred review -A remarkable, engrossing debut about what it means to be a survivor and the many ways to take control of your own destiny.- --Booklist, starred review -An entertaining mystery that will appeal to fans of Law & Order-type plots.- --School Library Journal -In her debut novel, After the Woods, Savage tells a story not unfamiliar from the five o'clock news, except this time the viewer is given a more detailed look into the incident. What results is an ability to empathize with the victim but also to fully comprehend the motives of the perpetrator, a man with limited intellect obsessed with an online fantasy world.- --VOYAshow more

About Kim Savage

Kim Savage was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, and received her degree in English from Stonehill College. She lives with her husband and three children north of Boston, Massachusetts. After the Woods is her debut novel.show more

Rating details

1,660 ratings
3.26 out of 5 stars
5 13% (222)
4 28% (457)
3 36% (602)
2 18% (297)
1 5% (82)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X