After the Fall
50%
off

After the Fall

4.06 (3,058 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

In the quiet of a New Zealand winter's night, a rescue helicopter is sent to airlift a five-year-old boy with severe internal injuries. He's fallen from the upstairs veranda of an isolated farmhouse, and his condition is critical. At first, Finn's fall looks like a horrible accident; after all, he's prone to sleepwalking. Only his frantic mother, Martha McNamara, knows how it happened. And she isn't telling. Not yet. Maybe not ever.

Tragedy isn't what the McNamara family expected when they moved to New Zealand. For Martha, it was an escape. For her artist husband Kit, it was a dream. For their small twin boys, it was an adventure. For sixteen-year-old Sacha, it was the start of a nightmare.

They end up on the isolated east coast of the North Island, seemingly in the middle of a New Zealand tourism campaign. But their peaceful idyll is soon shattered as the choices Sacha makes lead the family down a path which threatens to destroy them all.

Martha finds herself facing a series of impossible decisions, each with devastating consequences for her family.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 22mm | 246g
  • St Leonards, Australia
  • English
  • Main
  • 1743314892
  • 9781743314890
  • 214,252

Review quote

Easy to read, hard to put down, it'll move you to tears. * Easy Living on Freeing Grace * Will appeal to devotees of Joanna Trollope and Jodi Picoult... [Norman] is hot on their heels. * Daily Mail on Freeing Grace * A gripping story, which touches on the fragility of trust, the strength of love and, of course, second chances. This is Norman's second novel. Her style is emerging as reminiscent of bestselling author Jodi Picoult. * Sunday Canberra Times * Jodi Picoult had better look over her shoulder - she's got a new contender by the name of Charity Norman. * Sydney Morning Herald * After The Fall is a gripping tale that would appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Joanna Trollope... A page turning book to while away a winter's evening. * Red Online * Original, wonderfully written and utterly gripping, this is a corker of a tale. * The Sun *
show more

About Charity Norman

Charity Norman was born in Uganda and brought up in successive draughty vicarages in Yorkshire and Birmingham. After several years' travel she became a barrister, specialising in crime and family law in the northeast of England. In 2002, realising that her three children had barely met her, she took a break from the law and moved with her family to New Zealand. Her first novel, Freeing Grace, was published in the UK in 2011. Reading group notes are available here: http://atlantic-books.co.uk/content/reading-group-notes-charity-normans-after-fall
show more

Rating details

3,058 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 37% (1,120)
4 40% (1,212)
3 18% (564)
2 4% (115)
1 2% (47)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X