##rights Lost After Atlas
30%
off

##rights Lost After Atlas : A Planetfall Novel

4.18 (683 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Clarke Award Shortlist Acclaimed author Emma Newman returns to the captivating universe she created in Planetfall with a stunning science fiction mystery where one man's murder is much more than it seems... Gov-corp detective Carlos Moreno was only a baby when Atlas left Earth to seek truth among the stars. But in that moment, the course of Carlos's entire life changed. Atlas is what took his mother away; what made his father lose hope; what led Alejandro Casales, leader of the religious cult known as the Circle, to his door. And now, on the eve of the fortieth anniversary of Atlas's departure, it's got something to do why Casales was found dead in his hotel room--and why Carlos is the man in charge of the investigation. To figure out who killed one of the most powerful men on Earth, Carlos is supposed to put aside his personal history. But the deeper he delves into the case, the more he realizes that escaping the past is not so easy. There's more to Casales's death than meets the eye, and something much more sinister to the legacy of Atlas than anyone realizes...show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 130 x 203 x 27.94mm | 294.84g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • ROC (imprint of Penguin Group (USA) Inc)
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0425282406
  • 9780425282403
  • 238,207

Review quote

A Publishers Weekly Best Science Fiction/Fantasy Book of the Year "Newman writes with exquisite precision of grief, divided loyalties, and the struggle for self-actualization in this noir-inflected standalone...Gripping and sorrowful."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A lovely locked room mystery in which the stakes are incredibly high and the world is so very engaging....Emma Newman creates addictive page turners."--Starburst Magazine "Newman combines the classic mystery-novel whodunit with a frighteningly possible reality of corporate-owned governments...The overall feeling of something more sinister happening keeps the pages turning until the unexpected conclusion."--Booklist "A detective novel on acid...Newman's psychological insight is astute."--The Washington Post Praise for Planetfall "Cathartic and transcendent."--The New York Times "Exceptionally engaging...A vivid, riveting read."--The Washington Post "Think Interstellar, think Prometheus...Beautifully written."--Stephen Baxter, national bestselling author of The Light of Other Days "Gripping, thoughtful science fiction in the vein of Tiptree or Crispin. Unique, timely, and enthralling."--Seanan McGuire, author of Once Broken Faith "A fascinating and propulsive tale."--Locus "Incredibly well-realized world building...Thrilling."--io9.comshow more

About Emma Newman

Emma Newman is the author of Planetfall and a professional audiobook narrator, narrating short stories and novels in all genres. She also cowrites and hosts the Hugo nominated podcast, "Tea and Jeopardy." Emma is a keen role-player, gamer and designer-dressmaker.show more

Rating details

683 ratings
4.18 out of 5 stars
5 38% (260)
4 45% (308)
3 15% (101)
2 2% (12)
1 0% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X