An African Millionaire

An African Millionaire

3.73 (100 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A classic of crime and adventure, Grant Allen's An African Millionaire is perfect for fans of books such as Arsene Lupin, Gentleman Thief. Wealthy, confident and handsome, Charles Van Drift is not accustomed to being swindled and his brush with Colonel Clay both rattles and infuriates him. As his South African diamond fortune takes hit after hit from the quick-witted master of disguise, Allen leaves even the reader guessing: who can you trust? Van Drift grows more suspicious of those around him and a few too many misguided accusations shake the millionaire's confidence. Colonel Clay is in his head. Gary Hoppenstand contributes an introduction discussing the reception of the work when it was first serialised in The Strand and the significance of Colonel Clay as the first recurring gentleman rogue.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 208 pages
  • 129.54 x 195.58 x 17.78mm | 90.72g
  • PENGUIN CLASSICS
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0143106570
  • 9780143106579
  • 1,156,418

About Grant Allen

Grant Allen was born on February 24, 1848 near Kingston, Ontario, in Canada. Though largely forgotten today, during his lifetime he was a prolific and popular writer who published widely in diverse areas, which were as various as his own intellectual pursuits that ranged from the sciences to literature. Titles of several of his books reveal his breadth of interests, including The Evolutionist at Large (1881), and Biographies of Working Men (1884). As a naturalist and professed socialist, he embraced a number of radical views for his time, such as the advancement of women's rights. For example, his novel The Woman who did (1895), espoused a then controversial literacy critique of sexual conventions and marriage. His best stories, which featured the notorious conartist and thief, Colonel Clay, first appeared in the Strand Magazine and later were collected in the book, An African Millionaire: Episodes in the Life of the Illustrious Colonel Clay (1897), commonly regarded by many critics as the first fictional work to feature a criminal protagonist. Gary Hoppenstand is a professor of English at Michigan State University. He has twice won the Popular Culture Association's "Best Book" award in the Textbook/Reference category, and he is a former President of the nation Popular Culture Association. Currently, he is the editor of The Journal of Popular Culture.
show more

Rating details

100 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 20% (20)
4 42% (42)
3 29% (29)
2 9% (9)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X