Aerie
21%
off

Aerie

3.49 (914 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Where is home when you were born in the stars? Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend, Jason, is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She's living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you've spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world. As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground. When Jason's paranoia over Aza's safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever. In this stunning sequel to the critically acclaimed Magonia, one girl must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes-and two versions of herself. Praise for Magonia "Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she's whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream."-Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Ocean at the End of the Lane and The Graveyard Book "Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refresing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional dept, and a unique fantasy world tat I never saw coming."-Victoria Aveyard, author of Red Queen "Magonia hooked me from the first page. It as an amazing voice, brutal and hopeful both at once, and a beautiful, unique mythology. Wonderful."-Django Wexler, author of the Shadow Campaigns and The Forbidden Libraryshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 25mm | 646g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062320556
  • 9780062320551
  • 99,213

Review quote

PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: "Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she's whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream." -- Neil Gaiman, bestselling author of The Graveyard Book and Coraline "Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming." -- Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red QueenVictoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red QueenVictoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Red QueenVictoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times Bestselling "Headley riffs like an improv comic... funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason's bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) "With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman." -- Booklist "The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza's interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green's The Fault in Our Stars." -- Kirkus "The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled... romance, danger, and world-building combine." -- School Library Journal "The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "[A] weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)show more

Back cover copy

Where is home when you were born in the stars? Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend, Jason, is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She's living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if? you've spent the past year dying, waking up on a skyship, and discovering that your song can change the world. As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground. When Jason's paranoia over Aza's safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever. In this stunning sequel to the critically acclaimed Magonia, one girl must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes--and two versions of herself.show more

About Maria Dahvana Headley

Maria Dahvana Headley is a memoirist, novelist, and editor, most recently of the novel Queen of Kings and the New York Times bestselling anthology Unnatural Creatures (coeditor with Neil Gaiman). As the author of the work of short fiction "The Traditional," she has been nominated for a Shirley Jackson Award. She lives in Brooklyn with a seven-foot stuffed crocodile and a collection of star charts from the 1700s.show more

Rating details

914 ratings
3.49 out of 5 stars
5 19% (170)
4 31% (282)
3 35% (321)
2 13% (115)
1 3% (26)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X