Accidental Empires

Accidental Empires : How the Boys of Silicon Valley Make Their Millions, Battle Foreign Competition, And Still Can't Get a Date

4.01 (1,255 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback

List price: US$10.14

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

In the vein of Thomas Bass or Ed Regis, this book looks at the business of computing in the US, at computer science, as a business, and as a collection of extraordinary and eccentric characters. After automobiles, energy production, and illegal drugs, personal computers are the largest manufacturing industry in the world, and one of the great success stories for American business. This book looks at the development of this industry.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 128 x 198 x 14mm | 222g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 014017138X
  • 9780140171389

Table of contents

The demo-god; the tyranny of the normal distribution; why they don't call it computer valley; amateur hour; role models; chairman bill leads the happy workers in song; all IBM stories are true; software envy; clones; the prophet; font wars; on the beach; economics of scale; counter-reformation; future computing.
show more

Rating details

1,255 ratings
4.01 out of 5 stars
5 36% (448)
4 39% (486)
3 19% (235)
2 5% (61)
1 2% (25)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X