The Accidental Apprentice

The Accidental Apprentice

4.29 (580 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this "wholesome, delightful" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut--perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town's mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town's most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay's horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he's always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 142 x 213 x 30mm | 386g
  • English
  • 153447756X
  • 9781534477568
  • 59,426

Review quote

"Absolutely enchanting! Reminiscent of classic middle grade tales, with a highly unique and enthralling world and characters you can really root for."--Claribel A. Ortega, author of The Ghost Squad
show more

About Amanda Foody

Amanda Foody is the author of Daughter of the Burning City, The Shadow Game series, and the Wilderlore series. Formerly an accountant preparing taxes for multinational corporations, Amanda lives in Massachusetts with Jelly Bean, a feline beastly companion. Visit her at AmandaFoody.com.
show more

Rating details

580 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 46% (265)
4 40% (232)
3 12% (72)
2 1% (6)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X