The Accident

The Accident

3.59 (8,126 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

From Edgar Award-winning Chris Pavone, author of the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller The Expats, comes a riveting time-bomb of a thriller (fans of The Expats will be excited to see a few characters from Pavone's first book pop up here as well). Taking place over the course of twenty-four hours, The Accident draws on the rich worlds of publishing, politics and international spies to tell a suspenseful tale of intrigue in the vein of John Grisham and Laura Lippman.

In New York City, Isabel Reed, one of the most respected and powerful literary agents in the city, frantically turns the pages of a manuscript into the early dawn hours. This manuscript - printed out, hand-delivered, totally anonymous - is full of shocking revelations and disturbing truths linked to a car accident that occurred years ago, things which could compromise national security. Is this what she's been waiting for her entire career: a book that will help her move on from a painful past, a book that could save her beloved industry... a book that will change the world?

In Copenhagen, Hayden Gray, a veteran station chief, wary of the CIA's obsession with the Middle East, has been steadfastly monitoring the dangers that abound in Europe. Even if his bosses aren't paying attention, he's determined to stay vigilant. And he's also on the trail of this manuscript - and the secrets that lie at its heart. For him, quite simply, it must never see the light of day.

As Isabel and Hayden try to outwit each other, the nameless author watches on from afar. With no-one quite sure who holds all the cards, the stakes couldn't be higher: in just one day careers could be ruined, devastating secrets could be unearthed, and innocent people could die. As the manuscript moves from person to person, it leaves a trail of bodies in its wake.

Gripping, sophisticated, and impossible to put down, The Accident is a masterful follow-up to one of the most acclaimed and striking debut thrillers of recent years.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 161 x 240 x 34mm | 649g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 0571298923
  • 9780571298921
  • 948,913

About Chris Pavone

Chris Pavone grew up in Brooklyn, graduated from Cornell, and was an editor at book-publishing houses in New York for fifteen years. His first novel, The Expats, was an Edgar Award-winner and instant New York Times bestseller. Described by the Sunday Times as 'a captivating, sophisticated thriller', it is being published in fifteen languages on five continents, and has been optioned for film. The sequel to The Expats, The Accident, was published in 2014.

Chris is married and the father of twin schoolboys, as well as an old cocker spaniel, and they all live in Greenwich Village and the North Fork of Long Island.
show more

Rating details

8,126 ratings
3.59 out of 5 stars
5 16% (1,340)
4 40% (3,214)
3 33% (2,685)
2 8% (676)
1 3% (211)

Our customer reviews

The Accident not Really Accidental Oh wow! I could fill this review full of every single clich�© on the market. The Accident by Chris Pavone is the follow up from his debut The Expats and with this one book you will be completely blown out of the water. This is a brilliant page turning thriller that leaves you on the edge right until the end of the book. The pace is breathless and stunning at the same time which literally drives you and also if you are American who do you really trust? The Accident is stunning, fast paced 24 hours in the life of literary agent Isabel Reed, CIA Station chief Hayden Gray and book editor Jeffrey Fielder. A book called The Accident written by Anonymous has been dropped at her office and she reads it in one. The book describes how Charlie Wolfe the media mogul with enough connections to Washington insiders it is unbelievable. The Accident if published would be a like a bomb going off at Capitol Hill and Langley and there would be so much fallout. The big question is who wrote it and who will stop it from being published and the lengths they will go to. The people who steal a peak at The Accident have a tendency to wind up dead as Hayden Gray the CIA station cheat is running an off the books operations closes down any attempt anybody knowing about the book. There are no lengths he will go to in stopping its publication as he understands what is at stake and knowing Charlie Wolfe has operated as a CIA front in some parts of Europe. People have died and having those details in the public eye is not good. As Hayden heads from Copenhagen to New York to track down the manuscript Isabel and Jeff have to go on the run and leave the city. If this is the right thing to do we will only find out by reading the book. Isabel is being guarded unknowingly by guards sent by the author who is observing from a far, in hiding. We will only find out who the author is at the end of the book and what might have been planned for the present and the future. The book is split in to three sections, morning, afternoon and night, who will live to see tomorrow is the big question, will the manuscript be destroyed or published. The bodies pile up when Americans with buzz cuts are brought in to play, but then again the Americans would use a sledgehammer to crack a nut. The reader is driven by a need to know what happens to whom and who knows what and who will live. The only way to find out is to read and enjoy the race against time in The Accident.show more
by Paul D
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X