Above His Proper Station

Above His Proper Station

3.54 (70 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 10 business days
When will my order arrive?


Above His Proper Station is the second novel in a fantasy series set in a world of sorcerous aristocrats. Based on the tales of Rafael Sabatini's Scaramouche, by Lawrence Watt-Evans.

Anrel Murau, also known as the notorious revolutionary Alvos the Orator, is a wanted man. Returning to the Lume, capital of the Walasian Empire, to hide, Anrel seeks refuge in The Pensioners' Quarter, a poverty-stricken den of thieves, murderers, and con men. Barely scraping out an existence, Anrel never forgets the justice he seeks or the woman he lost. When Anrel's new home is destroyed by the city guards in an unheard of show of deadly force, he has no other choice but to reveal his alter-ego to an old acquaintance, Lord Blackfield, and hope the nobleman's connections with the delegates of the Grand Council can bring the perpetrators to justice.

But the persona of Alvos the Orator, hero of the people, has taken on a life of its own and many factions within the Grand Council seek a way to harness his loyal followers' political might for their own ends. Now, Anrel must navigate a spider's web of intrigue if he hopes to at last clear his name and achieve final retribution against his enemies once and for all.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 104 x 170 x 30mm | 204g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0765362783
  • 9780765362780

Review quote

"Watt-Evans is an accomplished writer in a number of genres, but sword and sorcery is one of his strengths."--"The Hartford Courant

""Veteran SF and fantasy author Watt-Evans ("The Obsidian Chronicles") displays his command of the fantasy genre in this fast-paced, fluidly told sequel to "The Wizard Lord"."--"Library Journal on The Ninth Talisman"
show more

About Lawrence Watt-Evans

LAWRENCE WATT-EVANS has been a full-time writer and editor for more than thirty years. The author of more than forty novels, including the acclaimed Legends of Ethshar and Obsidian Chronicles series. His short fiction has won the Hugo Award as well as twice winning the Asimov's Readers Award. He currently lives in Maryland with his wife.
show more

Rating details

70 ratings
3.54 out of 5 stars
5 16% (11)
4 31% (22)
3 44% (31)
2 9% (6)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X