Abigail and John

Abigail and John : Portrait of a Marriage

4.1 (1,245 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$26.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period's issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating."
-- Washington Times

"A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation's written history."
-- Oklahoma City Oklahoman

Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin's No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts's Founding Mothers, and David McCullough's John Adams will love "this eminently readable... charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography" (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America's original "power couple" Abigail and John Adams.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 644 pages
  • 149.86 x 226.06 x 45.72mm | 703.06g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • Large type / large print edition
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061668362
  • 9780061668364

Back cover copy

The marriage of John and Abigail Adams is one of the most extraordinary examples of passion and endurance that this country has ever witnessed. Theirs was a unique union, one based on mutual respect and ambition, intellect and equality. Using their letters, Abigail & John provides an inspirational portrait of a couple who weathered the trials of a revolution, and in so doing paved the way for the birth of a nation.
show more

Rating details

1,245 ratings
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 42% (517)
4 34% (429)
3 18% (226)
2 4% (54)
1 2% (19)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X