A House Divided

A House Divided

4.56 (39 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"`When you must face Maxwell, give evidence before the King. Have you thought on that?' `If I do not face Maxwell, I will not be able to face myself.'

Ayrshire 1597. The truce between the Cunninghame and Montgomerie clans is fragile. For the Munros living in hiding under assumed names, these are dangerous times. While Munro risks his life daily in the army of the French King, the spectre of discovery by William Cunninghame haunts his wife Kate. Her fears for their children and her absent husband realized as William's desire for revenge tears their world apart.

A sweeping tale of compassion and cruelty, treachery and sacrifice, A House Divided is set against the backdrop of a religious war, feuding clans and the Great Scottish Witch Hunt of 1597.

This eagerly awaited sequel to Turn of the Tide can also be read as a stand-alone novel and will appeal to fans of Winston Graham's Poldark and C J Sansom's Shardlake series.

Professional reviews

‘Based on the epic themes of love and sacrifice, greed and ambition, A House Divided is a captivating, fast-paced portrait of a family forced to make perilous decisions. You’ll find yourself reading far into the night, Skea’s characters alive in your imagination.’
Ann Weisgarber: Walter Scott and Orange shortlisted author of The Promise

‘A House Dividedby Margaret Skea is an outstanding historical novel. It is set in Scotland and France in 1597, and brings the period to life in a quite remarkable way.
To the mix of Scottish domestic life and French military campaigns, the author adds the hysteria of the Great Scottish Witch Hunt of 1597, and the result is a gripping story that draws in the reader and keeps you turning the page all the way to a climactic ending.’
Undiscovered Scotland"
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 43mm | 386g
  • Kelso, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1 black and white map
  • 0993333109
  • 9780993333101
  • 790,304

Table of contents

Main Characters
Part One
Part Two
Part Three
Historical Note
Glossary
show more

Rating details

39 ratings
4.56 out of 5 stars
5 67% (26)
4 28% (11)
3 3% (1)
2 0% (0)
1 3% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X