A Fire Sparkling
24%
off

A Fire Sparkling

4.39 (8,032 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

An Amazon Charts and Washington Post bestseller.

From the USA Today bestselling author of A Curve in the Road comes a spellbinding novel about one woman's love, loss, and courage during wartime.

After a crushing betrayal by the man she loves, Gillian Gibbons flees to her family home for a much-needed escape, but when she finds an old photograph of her grandmother in the arms of a Nazi officer, Gillian's life gets even more complicated. Rattled by the discovery, Gillian attempts to unravel the truth behind the photos, setting her off on an epic journey through the past...

1939. England is on the brink of war as Vivian Hughes falls in love with a handsome British official, but when bombs begin to fall and Vivian's happy life is destroyed in the blitz, she will do whatever it takes to protect those she loves...

As Gillian learns more about her grandmother's past, the old photo begins to make more sense. But for every question answered, a new one takes its place. Faced with a truth that is not at all what she expected, Gillian attempts to shine a light not only on the mysteries of her family's past but also on her own future.

This gorgeously written multigenerational saga is a heart-wrenching yet hopeful examination of one woman's struggle to survive, perfect for fans of The Nightingale and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 134.62 x 208.28 x 33.02mm | 430.91g
  • Lake Union Publishing
  • Seattle, United States
  • English
  • 1542092809
  • 9781542092807
  • 56,460

Rating details

8,032 ratings
4.39 out of 5 stars
5 57% (4,598)
4 30% (2,423)
3 9% (734)
2 2% (169)
1 1% (108)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X