A Batter of Life and Death

A Batter of Life and Death

3.95 (762 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Autumn has arrived in Ashland, Oregon - the perfect season for a spiced hot apple cider with a slice (or maybe two) of peach crumble. The Pastry Channel has also landed in the quaint little town to film the "Take the Cake" reality show. Jules Capshaw, now that she's decided to move home and help her mom run Torte, the family bakeshop, wants nothing to do with the competition - until she is unwittingly entered into the competition. The cash prize of $25,000 certainly isn't anything to sneeze at, and Torte could really use the extra dough. 80, Jules dusts off her Bavarian Chocolate Cake recipe and cinches up her apron. But just as the competition starts heating up, one of her fellow contests, Chef Marco, is discovered buried in buttercream. Could the portly chef have overdone it, or is there something more sinister cooking?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 104 x 173 x 20mm | 136.08g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1250054249
  • 9781250054241
  • 526,444

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

"Sure to satisfy both dedicated foodies and ardent mystery lovers alike." --Jessie Crockett, author of Drizzled with Death on Ellie Alexander's delectable new series

"A light souffl of a book...a perfect mix for fans of Jenna McKinley, Leslie Budewitz, or Jessica Beck." --Library Journal on Meet Your Baker
show more

About Ellie Alexander

ELLIE ALEXANDER is a Pacific Northwest native who spends ample time testing pastry recipes in her home kitchen or at one of the many famed coffeehouses nearby. When she's not coated in flour, you'll find her outside exploring hiking trails and trying to burn off calories consumed in the name of research. You can friend her on Facebook to learn more!
show more

Rating details

762 ratings
3.95 out of 5 stars
5 25% (193)
4 49% (370)
3 23% (176)
2 2% (19)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X