500 Words or Less

500 Words or Less

3.51 (1,162 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 11-16 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A YALSA 2020 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
"Compelling." --School Library Journal
"Moving." --Publishers Weekly
"Poignant." --Kirkus Reviews A high school senior attempts to salvage her reputation among her Ivy League-obsessed classmates by writing their college admissions essays and in the process learns big truths about herself in this mesmerizing debut novel-in-verse, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Elizabeth Acevedo. Nic Chen refuses to spend her senior year branded as the girl who cheated on her charismatic and lovable boyfriend. To redefine her reputation among her Ivy League-obsessed classmates, Nic begins writing their college admissions essays. But the more essays Nic writes for other people, the less sure she becomes of herself, the kind of person she is, and whether her moral compass even points north anymore. Provocative, brilliant, and achingly honest, 500 Words or Less explores the heartbreak and hope that marks the search for your truest self.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 30mm | 456g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • f-c jacket on uncoated stock w-no sfx
  • 1534410449
  • 9781534410442
  • 2,506,103

Review quote

"This compelling novel in verse encourages deep thought and conversation. Fans of Perfect by Ellen Hopkins will devour this timely and addictive read." --School Library Journal "Del Rosario's poems are accessible, and Nic proves herself a keen observer of the world around her, an adept interrogator of her own self, and a philosopher who considers how and why life happens the way it does." --Publishers Weekly "Thoughtfully introspective." --Booklist "In poignant verse, the moments of anguish, loneliness, and hope ring true." --Kirkus Reviews "Highly recommended." --School Library Connection "Juleah Del Rosario is an important new voice in YA lit." --Judy Zuckerman, Brooklyn Public Library
show more

Rating details

1,162 ratings
3.51 out of 5 stars
5 17% (200)
4 32% (373)
3 37% (434)
2 12% (135)
1 2% (20)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X