212

212

3.79 (3,937 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"The plot of an Alafair Burke thriller doesn't just rip from the headlines. She's one step ahead of them. 212 scares you and keeps you turning the pages into the wee hours."
--Harlan Coben

"Burke has created a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky's V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller's Sharon McCone.... Utterly authentic."
--Boston Globe

212 is acclaimed author--and former deputy district attorney--Alafair Burke's gripping thriller featuring hip, Manhattan-based detective Ellie Hatcher. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, and PJ Tracy will find it hard to put 212 down until the very last page.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 540 pages
  • 155 x 228 x 33mm | 572g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Large type / large print
  • Harperluxe ed.
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 0061946117
  • 9780061946110
  • 1,574,464

Back cover copy

In New York City, Nights Are Dangerous. Days Are Numbered.

When New York University sophomore Megan Gunther finds personal threats posted to a website specializing in campus gossip, she's taken aback by their menacing tone. Someone knows her daily routine down to the minute and is watching her--but thanks to the anonymity provided by the Internet, the police tell her there's nothing they can do. Her friends are sure it's someone's idea of a joke, but when Megan is murdered in a vicious attack, NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher is convinced that the online threats are more than just empty words.

With smooth, straight-talking partner J. J. Rogan at her side, Ellie tries to identify Megan's enemies, but she begins to wonder if the coed's murder was more than just the culmination of a cyber obsession. And when Megan's roommate suddenly disappears, Ellie and J. J. know they have to find her before another young woman dies.
show more

Review quote

"Burke's prose is clear and fast, and every move by investigators and officers of the court is the real deal. She explores genuine contemporary questions in a revealing and thoughtful way.... Her plot is always dynamic and intelligent. 212 is engineered to wring double-whammy suspense out of credible peril."--Katherine Dunn, Portland Oregonian
show more

Rating details

3,937 ratings
3.79 out of 5 stars
5 21% (812)
4 44% (1,747)
3 29% (1,160)
2 4% (176)
1 1% (42)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X