10 Things I Can See From Here

10 Things I Can See From Here

3.58 (2,069 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-18 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Perfect for fans of John Green's Turtles All the Way Down and Nina LaCour's We Are Okay, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.

Think positive.
Don't worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She's been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it's not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom--the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through--is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn't seem to worry about anything. Between her dad's wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

An ALA Rainbow Book List selection
A Bank Street Best Book of the Year

With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who's heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere.--Kirkus, Starred review

This is a good companion book for other anxiety-riddled stories, such as The Shattering by Karen Healey, and Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella.--Booklist

This hopeful offering will resonate with young people for their own lives, even if the journey is hard and takes time and patience...[a] compelling portrait of a teen's experiences with anxiety and challenging family dynamics.--SLJ

Mac carefully makes clear that Maeve is plenty able to find joy other places than the perfect girl and that she's working at dealing with her own problems; the romance is therefore lovely and cozy and free from overtones of dependency. The descriptions of anxiety are true and powerful, and romance buffs will likely revel in a book celebrating deep connection.--The Bulletin

Mac is good at showing how a dread-filled mind works... [An] affecting story.''--Publishers Weekly
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 148 x 217 x 26mm | 425g
  • Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0399556257
  • 9780399556258
  • 845,665

Review quote

With Maeve, Mac delivers a character who's heartwarmingly real and sympathetic, and her story provides a much needed mirror for anxious queer girls everywhere-- Kirkus, starred review
show more

About Carrie Mac

Carrie Mac is an award-winning author. She lives in East Vancouver with her two children. Learn more about Carrie and her books at CarrieMac.com and on Twitter at @CarrieMacWrites.
show more

Rating details

2,069 ratings
3.58 out of 5 stars
5 20% (406)
4 36% (742)
3 31% (633)
2 11% (219)
1 3% (69)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X