Christmas Posting Dates
The Crown

The Crown

Paperback

By (author) Nancy Bilyeau

List price $20.35

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $11.26
Hardback $29.39
CD-Audio $31.46
  • Publisher: Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • Format: Paperback | 416 pages
  • Dimensions: 155mm x 233mm x 30mm | 546g
  • Publication date: 2 February 2012
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1409133079
  • ISBN 13: 9781409133070
  • Edition statement: Trade Paperback.
  • Sales rank: 602,289

Product description

*Shortlisted for the 2012 CWA Ellis Peters Award* London, May 1537: When Joanna Stafford, a young novice, learns her cousin is about to be burned at the stake for rebelling against Henry VIII, she makes a decision that will change not only her life but quite possibly, the fate of a nation. Joanna breaks the sacred rule of enclosure and runs away from Dartford Priory. But when Joanna and her father are arrested and sent to the Tower of London, she finds herself a pawn in a deadly power struggle. Those closest to the throne are locked in a fierce fight against those desperate to save England's monasteries from destruction Charged with a mission to find a hidden relic believed to possess a mystical power that has slain three Englishmen of royal blood in the last 300 years, Joanna and a troubled young friar, Brother Edmund, must seek answers across England. Once she learns the true secret of her quest, one that traces all the way back to Golgotha and the Relics of the Passion, Joanna must finally determine who to trust and how far she is willing to go to protect her life, her family and everything she holds dear.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Nancy Bilyeau is a magazine editor and writer who lives in New York City with her husband and two children. She has worked for ROLLING STONE, ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, INSTYLE and PARADE. Her screenplays have been finalists in competitions including the Page International Screenwriting Awards, Scriptapalooza, and Francis Ford Coppola's American Zoetrope competition. THE CROWN is her first novel.

Review quote

Fabulous debut thriller inStyle UK A gripping treasure-hunt-like romp through one of the bloodiest periods in British history. GOOD HOUSEKEEPING Bilyeau's novel is a gripping debut and the perfect accompaniement to a cold, winter's night. unlikelybookworm.wordpress.com Bilyeau deftly weaves extensive historical detail throughout, but the real draw of this suspenseful novel is its juicy blend of lust, murder, conspiracy and betrayal. O, The Oprah Magazine Strong character development, realistic historical detail, and an atmosphere of pervasive tension coupled to a fast-placed plot make it compulsively readable. Booklist This fast-paced debut delivers Tudor intrigue and mystical thrills in one satisfying package - and leaves room for a sequel. KIRKUS Will appeal to fans of Dan Brown and Philippa Gregory Library Journal Nancy Bilyeau's polished, inventive debut has all the ingredients of the best historical fiction: a broad cast of characters, well-imagined settings, and vivid story-telling...In Joanna Stafford, Bilyeau has given us a memorable character who us prepared to risk her life to save what she must most values, while Stafford's desperate search for a lost religious relic will satisfy even the most ardent mystery fans -- Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches The events of the period come to life in Nancy Bilyeau's dazzling and heart-wrenching novel. The Crown is is evocative, provocative, and full of intriguing characters - a gorgeously written novel that has mystery and history, pathos and depth. This is a stunning debut about a woman whose spirit shines through and deeply moves the reader MJ Rose, international bestseller With a strong protagonist and some well-drawn characters, there are political intrigues, power struggles and deadly encounters in this novel of mystery and suspense. CHOICE MAGAZINE A Historical Fiction title that not only brought together the elements of the historical beautifully but also wove a mystery within that kept me glued from start to finish...a cracking read. Falcata Times

Back cover copy

London, May 1537. As those closest to the throne are locked in a fierce fight against those desperate to save England's monasteries from destruction, young Joanna Stafford faces a far more personal battle. When Joanna learns her cousin is about to be burned at the stake for rebelling against Henry VIII, she makes a decision that will change not only her life, but quite possibly the fate of a nation. It will mean turning her back on everything she knows, for Joanna is a novice at Dartford Priory - and to save her family, she must break the sacred rule of enclosure. But running away is only the first transgression. From the Tower of London, to secret assignations and from Stonehenge to the royal court - Joanna becomes entangled with a secret whose deadly past stretches farther back than anyone had imagined. As her mission draws a trail in blood from the last whispered words of a queen to a pattern of unnatural deaths in the royal lineage, Joanna must determine who to trust, and how far she's willing to go to protect her life, her family and everything she holds dear. 'All the ingredients of the best historical fiction: a broad cast of characters, well-imagined settings, and vivid story-telling.' Deborah Harkness, author of The Discovery of Witches Nancy Bilyeau is a writer and journalist who has worked for magazines including Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly, Good Housekeeping, InStyle and Parade. The Crown is her first novel. Nancy lives in New York City with her family. Find out more about Nancy and her lifelong passion for Tudor history at www.nancybilyeau.com 978 14091 33070 www.orionbooks.co.uk £12.99