Shadows and Strongholds
14%
off

Shadows and Strongholds

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Superb writing, phenomenal storytelling, breathtaking detail, sparkling characterization, a moving tale of love and tragedy with plenty of wit and humor thrown in."-Bookfoolery The one thing Brunin Fitzwarin knows best is nothing worthwhile is easy-especially not becoming a knight. But nothing will be more challenging than the past he's struggling to leave behind.Sent away by his father, Brunin is now a knight-in-training to the Lord of Ludlow-and still utterly alone. That is, until the youngest daughter of the house, Hawise, befriends him. With England in turmoil, Brunin must fight with his lord to support King Stephen for the English crown. As the war rages on and hits particularly close to home, Brunin must defeat the shadows of his childhood and take on the mantle of knight, confronting the future head on.Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Shadows and Strongholds is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be hooked on this well-crafted medieval tale of pride, loyalty, and conflict as one man fights the shadows of his past and his future. More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick: Lady of the English-a medieval battle of the sexes The Greatest Knight-the seldom told story of the Greatest Knight of the Middle Ages The Summer Queen a novel of Eleanor of AquitaineWhat readers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds"The era came alive on every page.""a super mix of historic detail, great characterization and romance. What more could a girl ask for on a cold night in November." "The development of the characters and well written prose had me hooked and has left me wanting more.""Shadows and Strongholds was a well-written, stirring story that brings Medieval England vividly to life.""This novel is a convincing and captivating historical fiction set in 12th century England."What reviewers are saying about Shadows and Strongholds"Romance, history, and action all rolled into one delicious ball."-NetGalley Review"An exquisitely written, compelling tale-a keeper to be enjoyed more than one time."-Long and Short ReviewsWhat people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." USA Today"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."-Books Monthly, UK"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." -Historical Novels Review"[Chadwick] makes the time period come alive for the reader, utilizing small historical details in order to really set each scene."-S. Krishna's Books"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."-The Burton Review"Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."-RT Book Reviews"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." Daily Telegraph"show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 533 pages
  • 134 x 202 x 38mm | 579.99g
  • Sourcebooks Landmark
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1402274599
  • 9781402274596
  • 1,054,437

Review quote

"Ms. Chadwick as done an excellent job with her engaging characters, intriguing plot and chivalry. " - My Book Addiction Reviewsshow more