Shadows and Strongholds

Shadows and Strongholds


You save US$1.47

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

From USA Today bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick comes a gripping, never-before-told, medieval battle of the sexesMatilda, daughter of Henry I, knows that there are those who will not accept her as England's queen when her father dies. But the men who support her rival, and cousin, Stephen do not know the iron will that drives her. She will win her inheritance against all odds, and despite all men. Adeliza, Henry's widowed queen and Matilda's stepmother, is now married to William D'Albini, a warrior who is fighting to keep Matilda off the throne. But Adeliza, born with a strength that can sustain her through heartrending pain, knows that the crown belongs to a woman this time. Both women will stand and fight for what they know is right. But for Matilda, pride comes before a fall. And for Adeliza, even the deepest love is no proof against fate. Written with vivid detail and great historical accuracy, Lady of the English is a captivating historical novel of Medieval England. Fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Sharon Kay Penman, and Bernard Cornwall will be spellbound by this well-crafted story of Henry I's daughter, his widow, and their alliance and perseverance as they fight for the rightful heir to the crown-a woman! More Medieval Historical Fiction Titles from Elizabeth Chadwick: The Greatest Knight-the seldom told story of the Greatest Knight of the Middle Ages The Summer Queen a novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine To Defy a King-the story of a noble woman in a tyrant's worldWhat readers are saying about Lady of the English"Great historical details and world-building combined with out-of-this-world characterization." "Everything about this story was compelling, and though it was a long book of 514 pages, I enjoyed every word." "I was from the start deeply immersed into the lives and politics of the times." "As absorbing as a thriller and full of fascinating historical detail."What reviewers are saying about Lady of the English"Lady of the English is a riveting historical fiction novel with thrilling drama and characters that fairly leap off of the page."-Laura's Reviews "A detailed and very readable medieval era novel full of political intrigue and fascinating depictions of the people surrounding the throne of England." "The story is vividly described with a depth of historical detail that is rarely matched by other novelists in the genre."-Historical Novel Review BlogWhat people are saying about bestselling author Elizabeth Chadwick"A star back in Britain, Elizabeth Chadwick is finally getting the attention she deserves here." USA Today"Elizabeth Chadwick is to Medieval England what Philippa Gregory is to the Tudors and the Stuarts, and Bernard Cornwall to the Dark Ages."-Books Monthly, UK"The best writer of medieval fiction currently around." -Historical Novels Review"Chadwick is an icon for the historical fiction community for her ability to create a believable and passionate story based around major events of the era."-The Burton Review "Breathing life into historical personages is hallmark Chadwick."-RT Book Reviews"Picking up an Elizabeth Chadwick novel is like having a Bentley draw up at your door: you know you are in for a sumptuous ride." Daily Telegraph"

show more
  • Paperback | 533 pages
  • 134 x 202 x 38mm | 579.99g
  • Sourcebooks Landmark
  • NapervilleUnited States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1402274599
  • 9781402274596
  • 1,133,327

Other books in Historical Fiction

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"There is something here for everyone. I'd highly recommend it and I'm really looking forward to my next read by Elizabeth Chadwick." - Medieval Bookworm

show more