Waiting for Columbus

Waiting for Columbus

Hardback

By (author) Thomas Trofimuk

List price $25.99

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $8.97
  • Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell
  • Format: Hardback | 326 pages
  • Dimensions: 168mm x 236mm x 36mm | 590g
  • Publication date: 25 August 2009
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0385529139
  • ISBN 13: 9780385529136
  • Sales rank: 1,549,686

Product description

A man arrives at an insane asylum in contemporary Spain claiming to be the legendary navigator Christopher Columbus. Who he really is, and the events that led him to break with reality, lie at the center of this captivating, romantic, and stunningly written novel. Found in the treacherous Strait of Gibraltar, the mysterious man who calls himself Columbus appears to be just another delirious mental patient, until he begins to tell the "true" story of how he famously obtained three ships from Spanish royalty. It's Nurse Consuela who listens to these fantastical tales of adventure and romance, and tries desperately to make sense of why this seemingly intelligent man has been locked up, and why no one has come to visit. As splintered fragments of the man beneath the facade reveal a charming yet guarded individual, Nurse Consuela can't avoid the inappropriate longings she begins to feel. Something terrible caused his break with reality and she can only listen and wait as Columbus spins his tale to the very end. In the tradition of "The Story of Edgar Sawtelle" and "The Dogs of Babel," this unforgettable novel mines the darkest recesses of loss and the extraordinary capacity of the human spirit. It is an immensely satisfying novel that will introduce Thomas Trofimuk to readers who will want to hear his voice again and again.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Thomas Trofimuk is a writer, editor, and communications consultant. He lives in Edmonton, Alberta, with his wife and daughter.