• Waiting for Columbus See large image

    Waiting for Columbus (Hardback) By (author) Thomas Trofimuk

    Unavailable

    Sorry we can't get this title, the button below links through to AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window).

    Try AbeBooks | Add to wishlist
    Also available in...
    Paperback $10.38

    DescriptionA man arrives at an insane asylum in contemporary Spain claiming to be the legendary navigator Christopher Columbus. Who he really is, and the events that led him to break with reality, lie at the center of this captivating, romantic, and stunningly written novel. Found in the treacherous Strait of Gibraltar, the mysterious man who calls himself Columbus appears to be just another delirious mental patient, until he begins to tell the "true" story of how he famously obtained three ships from Spanish royalty. It's Nurse Consuela who listens to these fantastical tales of adventure and romance, and tries desperately to make sense of why this seemingly intelligent man has been locked up, and why no one has come to visit. As splintered fragments of the man beneath the facade reveal a charming yet guarded individual, Nurse Consuela can't avoid the inappropriate longings she begins to feel. Something terrible caused his break with reality and she can only listen and wait as Columbus spins his tale to the very end. In the tradition of "The Story of Edgar Sawtelle" and "The Dogs of Babel," this unforgettable novel mines the darkest recesses of loss and the extraordinary capacity of the human spirit. It is an immensely satisfying novel that will introduce Thomas Trofimuk to readers who will want to hear his voice again and again.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Waiting for Columbus

    Title
    Waiting for Columbus
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Thomas Trofimuk
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 326
    Width: 162 mm
    Height: 235 mm
    Thickness: 30 mm
    Weight: 590 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780385529136
    ISBN 10: 0385529139
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    LC subject heading: ,
    DC21: 813.6
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC025000
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: FIC019000
    Publisher
    Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group Inc
    Imprint name
    Bantam Doubleday Dell
    Publication date
    25 August 2009
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Thomas Trofimuk is a writer, editor, and communications consultant. He lives in Edmonton, Alberta, with his wife and daughter.