Christmas Posting Dates
The Places in Between

The Places in Between

Paperback

By (author) Rory Stewart

List price $15.65

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $12.89
  • Publisher: PICADOR
  • Format: Paperback | 324 pages
  • Dimensions: 130mm x 194mm x 22mm | 281g
  • Publication date: 1 April 2005
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0330486349
  • ISBN 13: 9780330486347
  • Edition: Unabridged
  • Edition statement: Unabridged
  • Illustrations note: maps
  • Sales rank: 28,499

Product description

Rory Stewart's moving, sparsely poetic account of his walk across Afghanistan in January 2002 has been immediately hailed as a classic. Caught between hostile nations, warring factions and competing ideologies, at the time, Afghanistan was in turmoil following the US invasion. Travelling entirely on foot and following the inaccessible, mountainous route once taken by the Mohgul Emperor, Babur the Great, Stewart was nearly defeated by the extreme, hostile conditions. Only due to the help of an unexpected companion and the generosity of the people he met on the way, did he survive to report back with unique insight on a region closed to the world by twenty-four years of war. 'This is traveling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best' - David Gilmour 'an astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage' - Colin Thubron 'wise, funny and marvelously humane' - Michael Ignatieff '[this] evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration' -- Guardian 'His encounters with Afghans are tragic, touching and terrifying.' - Daily Telegraph

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Rory Stewart was born in Hong Kong and grew up in Malaysia. After a brief period in the British Army, he studied history and philosophy at Balliol College, Oxford before joining the Foreign Office. He served in the British Embassy in Indonesia and as the British Representative in Montenegro. In 2000 he began walking from Turkey to Bangladesh, covering 6000 miles alone on foot across Afghanistan, Pakistan, India and Nepal. In 2003, he became the coalition Deputy Governor of Maysan and Dhi Qar, two provinces in the Marsh Arab region of Southern Iraq. He was awarded the Order of the British Empire in 2004 and is currently a Fellow of the Carr Centre at Harvard University.

Review quote

"'This is traveling at its hardest and travel-writing at its best' - David Gilmour 'an astonishing achievement: a unique journey of great courage' - Colin Thubron 'The Places in Between goes straight into the highest echelons of travel literature' - Wanderlust 'a writer in the tradition of Thesiger and Thubron' - Spectator '[this] evocative book feels like a long lost relic of the great age of exploration' - Guardian 'a mature debut, and an intelligent and illuminating introduction to this fascinating, unfortunate country.' - Telegraph '[Stewart] must have balls of steel, but he writes like an angel all the same.' - Conde Nast Traveller 'one of the most thrilling and informative books to have been written about that incredible country since Robert Byron's The Road to Oxiana' - Country Life"