• The Year of Decision 1846 See large image

    The Year of Decision 1846 (Paperback) By (author) Bernard Augustine DeVoto, Introduction by Stephen E Ambrose, Foreword by Mark Devoto

    $19.04 - Save $5.95 23% off - RRP $24.99 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 4 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Description"Year of Decision 1846" tells many fascinating stories of the U.S. explorers who began the western march from the Mississippi to the Pacific, from Canada to the annexation of Texas, California, and the southwest lands from Mexico. It is the penultimate book of a trilogy which includes "Across the Wide Missouri "(for which DeVoto won both the Pulitzer and Bancroft prizes) and "The Course of Empire." DeVoto's narrative covers the expanding Western frontier, the Mormons, the Donner party, Fremont's exploration, the Army of the West, and takes readers into Native American tribal life.

Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Year of Decision 1846

    The Year of Decision 1846
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Bernard Augustine DeVoto, Introduction by Stephen E Ambrose, Foreword by Mark Devoto
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 572
    Width: 140 mm
    Height: 203 mm
    Thickness: 38 mm
    Weight: 522 g
    ISBN 13: 9780312267940
    ISBN 10: 0312267940

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 25590
    BIC geographical qualifier V2: 1KBB
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC subject category V2: HBLL
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T5.2
    BIC E4L: HIS
    Ingram Theme: CHRN/19CNTY
    BIC time period qualifier V2: 3JH
    BIC subject category V2: HBJK
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 01
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 01
    DC21: 978.02
    Ingram Theme: CHRN/ERLY18
    Ingram Subject Code: HS
    B&T General Subject: 430
    B&T Merchandise Category: POD
    Libri: I-HS
    LC subject heading: ,
    DC22: 978.02
    BISAC V2.8: HIS036040
    DC22: 978/.02
    LC subject heading: ,
    LC classification: F592 .D38 2000
    LC subject heading: ,
    Thema V1.0: NHK
    Edition statement
    2000th ed.
    Illustrations note
    black & white illustrations
    St. Martins Press-3pl
    Imprint name
    St. Martins Press-3pl
    Publication date
    05 October 2000
    Publication City/Country
    New York, NY
    Author Information
    Bernard DeVoto (1897-1955), winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, was a renowned scholar-historian. Stephen E. Ambrose is the author of "Undaunted Courage" and "D-Day June, 1944 "both critically-acclaimed bestsellers.
    Review quote
    "In the first volume of the trilogy, Devoto made 1846 the 'year of the decision.' The reason was that it was in 1846 that America began a war with Mexico that would lead to the annexation of New Mexico, Arizona, and California; and that America settled a long-smoldering dispute with Great Britain and became sovereign in Oregon, thus beginning the process of making the Southwest and West Coast into a part of the American Republic. It was also a peak year in the emigration across the plains and mountains." --Stephen E. Ambrose, from the Introduction "Bernard DeVoto has woven a pattern of history more meaningful than any of its strands... This rare combination of the scholar's accuracy, the novelist's creative vision, and the historian's insight has won him a distinguished place among American historians." --Garrett Mattingly, author of "The Armada"