The Wrong Mother

The Wrong Mother

Paperback Zailer & Waterhouse Mystery

By (author) Sophie Hannah

$12.00
List price $15.00
You save $3.00 20% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Penguin USA
  • Format: Paperback | 432 pages
  • Dimensions: 150mm x 204mm x 22mm | 380g
  • Publication date: 29 September 2009
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0143116304
  • ISBN 13: 9780143116301
  • Edition statement: Original
  • Sales rank: 99,722

Product description

A chilling, compulsively readable novel of psychological suspense from the author of "The Dead Lie Down" and "The Other Woman's House" Sally Thorning is watching the news with her husband one night when she hears an unexpected name--Mark Bretherick. It's a name she shouldn't know, but last year after a business trip canceled at the last minute, Sally treated herself to a secret vacation--away from her hectic family life--and met a man. After their brief affair, the two planned to never meet again. All the details are the same: his job, where he lives, his wife Geraldine and daughter Lucy. But the photograph on the news is not the man Sally knew. And now Geraldine and Lucy are dead. The third book in Sophie Hannah's acclaimed Zailer and Waterhouse series, "The Wrong Mother" delivers white knuckle suspense and Hannah's trademark plot twists, and is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Ruth Rendell.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Sophie Hannah is the bestselling author of eight novels and is also an award-winning poet. Her new Hercule Poirot mystery, the first to be sanctioned by the Agatha Christie estate, will be published in September 2014. She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and two children, and is a Fellow Commoner at Lucy Cavendish College.

Review quote

"Shockingly (and refreshingly) blunt riffs about the violent emotions of motherhood and the familial yearnings of men, along with chilling and darkly funny revelations about lust and loyalty, make this novel one of the season's most absorbing reads." -O Magazine ""The Wrong Mother" is an un-put-downable read, and as a $15 paperback, the bargain mystery of the year!" -Bookpage (Mystery of the month) "A superior psychological mystery...Paced like a ticking time bomb with flawlessly distinct characterization, this is a fiercely fresh and un-put-downable read." -"Publishers Weekly" (starred) "The stress of mothering young children while working outside the home is at the center of this British mystery that's part psychological thriller and part police procedural...A best-seller in Britain...this gripping novel deserves similar success here." -"Booklist" (starred) "["The Wrong Mother"] is [Hannah's] most accomplished novel yet. As thed